Poets logo

A Life of Mondays

(Memoirs from an Eccentric Man)

By Antony KingPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

One thing never changes

Mondays always suck.

They suck because…

it is the start of another long week

A long drawn out week

I have lived too many weeks like that

Everyday is like Monday,

the same bullshit

The same lame coffee at the corner diner

The strained conversations

No alacrity…

I flirt with the waitress…

But, she always turns me down.

But, I don’t understand,

For I am quite good looking…

Well… At least, I think I am.

So, I order the same breakfast

And wonder where my life would be…

Without a life of Mondays,

I might have some place to be.

Antony King 2018

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Antony King

Antony King, a published poet from Eastern Kentucky. His work can be found in SpillWords, Rye Whiskey Review, and piker press to name a few. His books are available at B&N.com and Amazon.com

https://www.facebook.com/ADarkerSideOfPoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.