Poets logo

A Leaf in the Wind

An excerpt

By Tracey Lapham WhitePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Marko Blažević on Unsplash

I watched him drive away,

A leaf in the wind.

He never said goodbye to me,

Not even in a note.

I stood by the window silently,

Hoping that he would someday return to me.

I have waited for years now, since he left that day

But still he has not come back to his girl.

After these years, each night at midnight still,

I look out my window.

I dream and I pray that he will remember me.

But I call his name.

And I receive no answer.

I want to forget the smell of him,

I try not to remember his voice—

That voice the coo of a dove.

I push from my mind

The taste of his lips.

But the image of his body,

And the sensation of his caressing touch,

Resurface in my memory

And it lingers there, tormenting me.

And I cannot possibly ignore my heart

Even after the pain my love has caused me.

Excerpt from Whispered Words

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Tracey Lapham White

Born in Barrie, Ontario. Son Jamie, full of insight, creativity, and beauty. Tracey enjoys reading, Netflix, cleaning the house, making it messy again, good food, laughter, and education.

https://www.traceylaphamwhite.ca/blank

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.