Poets logo

A lazy place

I hate mirrors

By AZIAKPONO OVWEDEPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

Fighting has never been my strength.

I've won more fights than I've lost

but I've lost more to fights than I've won.

so I've learned not to fight.

yet, I fought with peace.

I conquered it.

now I'm at peace with my lowly life.

is it really peaceful? this life!

Gone with my fighting, is my strength

I feel strong within, a lazy strength.

Boxing the entity that is me.

wake up. wake up.

The blows ricochet off.

My lazy is strong, too strong

so I lay still, thinking of all the strength I've reserved.

imagining how stunning that moment would be.

that moment I strike back.

that moment!!

I'm too lazy for today.

it is the quietness of tomorrow

that stills my nerves and fraying heart

when the cacophony of today pounds in my ears.

The present is too loud.

It is a blinding sound

and a deafening sight.

It stands tall, A giant of confusion.

I run to tomorrow.

I hide under its elegance.

Its beauty and promises keep me wrapped up and protected.

Non demanding, just a promise of betterment.

it is this quietness, that drives me further into the future.

In this quietness,

I go to the mirror

To see the man I would become when tomorrow comes

But mirrors

They are short sighted.

They can't see what's to come.

They show me everything that I am not.

They speak unrealistic truths.

The beautiful me within they fail to see.

They present me as I am,

Without some little embellishments.

What is life without some lies?

Without some withheld truths?

I hate mirrors.

They see the present only.

I am not a man of the present,

so I've got no reflection in them.

I hate mirrors!

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetryfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.