Poets logo

A Kingdom in my Mind

My mind is an endless source of happiness to me.

By Chaitanya BabuPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
A Kingdom in my Mind
Photo by Ender Vatan on Unsplash

In my mind, a kingdom is;

So many joys there, I discover.

That it surpasses all other pleasures

That which the earth provides or grows in kind:

Despite my desire for the majority to have,

Still, my thinking stops me from craving.

There was no princely splendour, no magnificent store, nothing.

There is no need to use force to achieve victory.

There's no such thing as a clever wit to heal a wound.

There's no way to feed a loving eye in this shape;

I am not a thrall to any of these.

For what reason? My mind is there for everyone.

My riches are perfect relaxation and excellent health.

My main defence is that my conscience is clear.

I don't want to be appeased by bribes.

Neither by deception nor by causing offence:

This is how I live, and this is how I will die.

We all did it as well as I did!

vintage

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CBWritten by Chaitanya Babu

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.