Poets logo

A Kind Word

wipes my dreams away

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
11
A Kind Word
Photo by Jarle Johansen on Unsplash

I had my dreams

You trying to help me

Took them from me

Forcing your perception of me

To become my identity

The harder I tried to forge my own path

The more you clung

The more you maneuvered

The more I cried over my lost true identity

And my fight to restructure my dreams

And forge a new identity

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • M6 months ago

    Relate to this poem so much.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    This is very relatable. I felt the movie Runaway Bride. I did not know what kind of eggs like . I used to just eat whatever that person’s favorite meal. I like scrambled eggs . Take baby step to find yourself .

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Oof! Sad, but powerful. Well done, Antoinette!

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Very deep! Loved the empowering ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.