Poets logo

A Humble Cup Of Tea

Who Needs Real Food Anyways?

By KadencePublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

I sit in the corner of a Jersey apartment.

Sirens blare while my brother watches in excitement.

Younger than I, he doesn’t notice my concealed face.

As I worry about drunk parents finding this place.

My Grandma walks over with porcelain cups.

Curiosity doesn’t end as I go to reach up.

A breath to tame the heat while I greet this concoction.

This elixir of water, sugar and Lipton.

Simple by design, yet tricky to master.

No longer thinking “how long this’ll last for?”

Final I sip, embracing my Grandma’s gesture of faith.

Who needs comfort food when there’s Tea to die for?

~~~

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

If you enjoyed it, consider checking out my artist profile on my LinkTree, where you can view my writing profile, music, and other creative works!

Thank You For Your Time,

-Kadence <3

Balladsad poetryFamily
1

About the Creator

Kadence

"That the universe was made just to be seen by my eyes." - Saturn by Sleeping at Last

With nearly a decade's worth of creative and technical writing, I cover topics that are personal to me. Otherwise, what would be the point?

LinkTree <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    "This elixir of water, sugar and Lipton." - uhhuh! Also love your subtitle. Good poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.