Poets logo

A Horse says "Oink"

Don't believe everything you hear.

By BreezyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
16
A Horse says "Oink"
Photo by Jelleke Vanooteghem on Unsplash

A lazy morning at home.

Baby boy and I playing and

Cuddling on the couch. The

Duck says “Quack”,

Every time on the See N’ Say.

Frog says “Ribbit”, my boy

Giggles and claps his hands. A

Horse says “Oink”?

I think something’s broken.

Jumbled animal sounds

Keep coming from the toy.

Look at the rooster,

Making a sound like a sheep.

Noises from the dog,

Oddly sound like a cow.

Perhaps the batteries are dying?

Quickly I discard the See N’ Say and

Reach for a new toy; a

Slinky is too quiet,

The baby is not amused. I'm

Uncertain what I should try next?

Visible tears fill his eyes.

Wait—I see a noisy toy, a

Xylophone with a mallet

Yes! The distraction works.

Zero tears are left; tantrum averted!

Family
16

About the Creator

Breezy

I'm a mom of four and a lover of stories. Unfortunately, the busy mom life doesn't leave a lot of time for reading and writing, but audiobooks and the stories they tell help make the daily mundanity more bearable.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Very smooth poem and relatable

  • Daniel J. Heck3 months ago

    Very cute and relatable!

  • My Life care ideas3 months ago

    "Enjoying your insightful content! If you're interested in similar topics, feel free to check out my profile for more. Would love to connect and share thoughts!"

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Good job, so clever for the abcedarian!

  • Eiman Asif3 months ago

    Really a lovely poem....

  • This was so fun, and I didn’t even notice it was abecedarian for quite a while!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    AWWWWW, so adorable!

  • This is adorable! I don't have kids, but I help take care of little kids often, so I could see this situation playing out. It will never stop to amaze me how easily you can distract kids.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.