Poets logo

A Hope Deferred

A Poem

By Dustin WalkerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
A Hope Deferred
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

The way of the stoic

Seemed wise to me at first.

“You should be heroic”

Till mind be fit to burst.

The ground felt so unsafe

Your view of me seemed frail.

For though I act in faith

You felt that I had failed.

To you I bore the fault

Though I was not to blame.

For what was it I’d sought

But approval, not shame.

Now stuck in a mire

Of unheard emotion.

I’m burning in fire

Despite my devotion.

I have ignored my fears

And my face remained dry.

I’ve forsaken my tears

And forgot how to cry.

My eyes, they may glisten

But the tears will not come.

But once would you listen!

I’m not stoic, I’m numb.

sad poetryheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Dustin Walker

Thanks for visiting my page!

I have aspired to be a writer for most of my life, and now I am finally becoming serious about it. I appreciate your support as you join me in this endevor, and I welcome your honest feedback as it helps me grow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.