Poets logo

A Home for the Invisible Illness

A love-hate relationship

By Helen OlivierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Home for the Invisible Illness
Photo by Shane on Unsplash

Home is my safe haven

Home is my prison

These four walls

Calm me, soothe me

Close down on me

Home, a place of so much pain

A place where I can hide

From the pain of the outside world

And never come out again

The things I love:

My books

My plants

My postcards

Of other places I have been

Windows in other times

Better times

The things I hate:

The dust that covers everything

The noise of the houses built outside

The windows that look

In other people's lives

Where a beautiful field used to be

With wild roses and poppies

My home:

The place I can't let go of

The place that warps things in my mind

The place I want to keep forever

The place I want to leave behind

Home…

One day it will be another place

Of happiness

And no more pain

Happy home

And nothing other

Prison no more

Home again

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Helen Olivier

I mostly write to share emotions.

You can find me also on Medium: https://medium.com/@Helen.Olivier

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.