Poets logo

A Home Among the Stars

Soul by soul, brick by brick.

By Adriana MPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
A Home Among the Stars
Photo by Wenhao Ryan on Unsplash

Home is slowly moving away.

Without asking, with no warning

Home is making its way

To a place amongst the stars

First Grandpa left

His crooked grins and playful pranks

Not to be seen or heard again

In their place nothing but eerie blanks

Then Grandma went.

Like the soft breeze that cools the skin

Her absence left a cold dent

Right in the middle of my heart

Now daddy said “it’s my turn, kid.

I pray God takes this pain away.”

And so he passed, rested in peace

Said “no worries, with the Lord I’ll be okay.”

Some People talk excitedly about moving.

Fill up houses, buy many a thing

Then get bored, call the garbage man

Throw it all and hit the road again.

But my house is the one moving

Piece by piece, brick by brick

With the foundation plucked

Where should I now stick?

For the time is long before I go

That at least is what I hope

Yet it means life without them

All I can do is try and cope

Mother said to me

“This cob of ours is looking toothless,

Kernels dropping off one by one,

We are ever more less.”

But this is life, dear Daughter

Remember what Grandma said

Is only pain that reminds you

You are not yet dead

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Adriana M

Neuroscientist, writer, renaissance woman .

instagram: @kindmindedadri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.