Poets logo

A Friend In Need

Well, I did always want a dragon.

By Jessica DowdingPublished about a year ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1
A Friend In Need
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

There once was a cheerful giraffe

Who chortled and giggled his laugh,

But whenever he did,

Friends and family hid —

For they feared he'd flame-breath them to chaff.

-

He came with a knock on my door

As the rain was beginning to pour.

I dodged his red flame

And asked him his name:

“Tiberius Sven Wilberfore!”

-

I let him come stay at my house;

He was funny and sweet as a mouse.

(Though he burned up our chair

And singed Annabelle’s hair.

“That’s alright, she was hiding a louse.”)

-

He wanted to visit my neighbor

So I strapped on my trusty lightsaber

(It was only for show,

Not for striking a blow)

And I got on his back with some labor.

-

Tiberius puffed greyish smoke

(I suppose it was meant as a joke)

But my neighbor’s loud shriek

And her dog’s little squeak

Made his flames putter down with a croak.

-

I distracted her, then, with a snack,

And said, “Please, wait, just cut him some slack.

“He was out all alone,

Now he’s one of my own.”

So she shrugged. “Well, I guess that does track.”

-

(I had taken such houseguests before,

Like a dog with paws big as an oar,

A deaf, blind senior cat,

A cantankerous rat,

And a pal who had left Singapore.)

-

We came home after walking the block,

And Tiberius asked me in shock,

“I can honestly stay?

I won’t scare you away?

I breathe fire and smoke and I talk.”

-

I patted his soft yellow head

And tucked him right into his bed.

“I like spiders and snakes

And I don’t mind mistakes.

You’re my friend. Isn’t that enough said?”

-

He cried great crocodile-sized tears

And he told me his hopes and his fears

Then he laughed in surprise

When his flames didn’t rise —

See, he hadn’t controlled them in years.

-

We adventured through life’s mileposts,

Working hard, meeting friends, fighting ghosts.

But we made time to play,

And we ended each day

With giraffe-sponsored marshmallow roasts.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Jessica Dowding

I have an overactive imagination and I really like petting dogs. I love using creative writing to dig into the small moments that make up humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶5 months ago

    I adore this limerick! I still have a soft spot for Puff the Magic Dragon.🙃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.