Poets logo

A fisherman’s Story

An ode to addiction

By Nathanael John HighbenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A fisherman’s Story
Photo by J A N U P R A S A D on Unsplash

I’ll tell you all

A little tale,

It’s starts with just a glance!

Looking for sails,

I was staring at, the water’s vast expanse.

When all of a sudden,

A figure I saw!

Out there, amoung the hail.

Resist I did, as much as I could!

But my will was suddenly frail?

She sensed I had longed for her,

And I shivered at her quail.

Then she let out a calming purr,

And yet my limbs they failed.

Slowly she seeped into my life

And quickly caused me strife.

See she was so calming,

So tricky, and sweet,

That I start to have visions now,

Down near my feet.

Day after day I think to quit

But truly how, could I commit,

To a life lived empty?

Where nothings tempting.

Though it brings me shame,

The nights with her

Are the only source to cure my pain.

As a job I was a sailor,

I watched the waters each night.

But when I hear her mournfol sound,

It still sounds true and right.

I know one night that she’ll come out

And beckon directly to me,

She’ll sing of things so sweet and pure

So righteous and so free

So I’ll follow her, it’ll seem to me,

Seem clear my soul’s at stake.

She show’ll me all these wonders and sights,

Of things I’d never believe!

Day after day I’ll be drawn to her,

To her vibrant web she’d weaved.

Soon I’ll began to shy away

From even the faintest light,

More and more, I’ll go to her

The pull to hard to fight.

Then one morn’ I’ll know my error,

And I’ll still continue to greet her.

Her face will be a frightful blur,

But I’ll be happy to see her.

I’ll notice the world like every-time

It’ll look so live and vivid,

I’ll try and struggle to turn away

And then she’ll really be livid.

Her colors and calls will beckon so,

How strong, I don’t even know.

Unable to run, I’ll be trapped in there.

The water will feel so thick.

Their walls will be tall and thick as a maze,

Their walls will become brick.

There’ll only be one path, that’ll be clear to me.

So I’ll dive in, determined and scared,

I’ll mean to finally break free!

I’ll know somewhere, the other-side

Is surely what I’ll must see.

My eyes forward, they’ll pay no heed

To lights and colors calling out to me.

The farther I’ll go, the closer she’ll be,

Her methods will grow bolder,

And her voice will only grow colder.

But it’ll be on the side

Of that deep, lustful tide

Where I’ll learn to gain composure.

She’ll delay… and try to stray,

My thoughts from being by my side.

So headfirst I’ll swim with soaking skin,

To find how I might prevail.

Though my speed inside will match closely with a snail!

It’ll be a strong link, that much I’ll think!

It’ll wrap around, it's tightness sound

My head and around my neck.

I’ll know I had come as far as I could

There’ll seem no hope for love, or good

And then I’ll sink, my breath will be gasping.

The water will break away though, as will my rasping!

White sky will strike in, there’ll be hands reaching out,

To lift me from this horrid sin, to lift me from my doubts.

I’ll make purchase with the arms of hope

For in that embrace, my thoughts will grow

And that sensuous, slithery and slow

Voice will be silenced, and told to go.

Vanished completely, the silence will be absurd.

I’ll know that I had broken free,

That I had kept me word.

The new horizon will be so sweet to me

From that day on I’ll never look

Upon her face, or her head,

That sly, treacherous crook

She’ll rob me of so many years

She will play and feed on all my fears

Finally though, I’ll have come to find

That not everything so enticing

Should ever be paid much mind!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nathanael John Highben

Hello, I am an amateur writer and artist from Ohio. I hope you enjoy my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.