Poets logo

A Feral Conversation

Rescuer and Cat

By Marney Studaker-CordnerPublished 5 days ago 1 min read

Hello, little kitty, I’m here to help you

Why in the world would I believe that is true?

Because I’m an animal rescuer - I promise, now you’ll be fine

But I’ve been alone in this world, for such a long time.

It’s cold outside sweetheart - come in and get warm

But how can I trust you - that you mean me no harm?

There’s danger out there - come be safe inside

But how can I trust you - the last person lied.

I’ve got food in here, if you’ll just let me help you

My friends have been poisoned - is that my fate too?

What can I do, to show you I care?

Just keep showing up, so I know you’ll be there.

I promise I will, for as long as it takes

Will you pick up the pieces of my heart, if it breaks?

What you don’t know, little one, is my heart breaks too; your sad little eyes cut me straight through

Then come back tomorrow, and I’ll try to be here - and maybe, together, we can heal me from fear.

inspirational

About the Creator

Marney Studaker-Cordner

Social worker/Clinical therapist and Animal rescuer/advocate. Published author in areas of parenting, self-help, children’s storybooks & contributing author to Empowering Parents website. I use humor and compassion to empower others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake4 days ago

    Wow wow, it is such a heartfelt poetic dialogue. Keep it up!

  • The promise to show up and the acknowledgment of shared pain demonstrate a genuine commitment to healing and rebuilding trust, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Marney Studaker-CordnerWritten by Marney Studaker-Cordner

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.