Poets logo

A Father, in retrospect

An artistic wanderer...(Lonzo's Daydreamer Poetry FB group).

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
11
Sajad Fi - Unsplash

My father's memory conjures a sense of 'deja vu'

Though not a feeling of having already experienced the present situation

But more like, had I actually been there, and had I actually lived the experience?

My father had been one of those wandering souls

Artistic and restless, gifted but misunderstood

I imagine that my brain should have sensed the presence of a father

If his yearning, his need for something unseen and unknown

For finding himself

Could have somehow made him be still for a moment

So I could know where he actually had been in relation to my life experiences

When my brain is handed a contradictory stimulus, it says

"Oh well, I imagine I have been wrong that my father would have had the time to teach me to ride a bike, and threaten all the lurking boys with hell and damnation, scaring the holy hell out of one and all".

Like they do in the movies....

My father was a musician, in a band

My father was an artist, could draw any picture perfectly

My father was a carpenter, could build me a house

My father knew every plant, and their medicinal uses

His penmanship was the stuff artists dreamed about

Such a talented soul was he

In short, my father knew everything that I wanted to know

My father had all the skills that I wanted to learn

Why are the truly artistic such wandering souls?

The world being what it was

When the time came for me to learn

He was taken from this world

My house was left unbuilt

The arts were left unlearned

On my own I was left to learn

There is still a lot not yet learned

But having life means hope springs eternal

Misunderstand me not

My father was a kind and giving man

Flawed? Yes he was, who isn't

On 'Father's Day', I shall send a prayer

And a blessing, in hopes that

Wherever you are Father...

May you find the peace you never found

While traversing this earthly plane!

By Road Ahead on Unsplash

.................................................................

surreal poetryperformance poetry
11

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)11 months ago

    A lovely tribute to him, beautiful x

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Awesome, beautiful and sad all rolled into your performance poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This was a lovely tribute to your father. He has obviously lived on through your own artistic ability

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Novel, this was a really emotional piece for me! I can't imagine what your world was like in the way you describe it, it sounds heart breaking. I'm sorry this was part of your journey! Hugs 😊💕

  • Sid Aaron Hirji11 months ago

    beautiful

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    My Dear 'N' ~ Ah, the 'Novel Approach' always does it for me. You certainly don't fall far from the 'Father' Gene-Pool Tree' ~ In "Retrospect," Dad may have said, "So Groovy Kiddo" J-BuD Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Dear Novlet, I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 Your poem made me so emotional. You are such a strong person 🥺❤️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    “His penmanship was the stuff artists dreamed about” my father and your father sound like they have much in common. I loved reading this. Amazing work.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    😌 Hey, as Lonzo said a very profound piece!! Very moving too and I am certain your father’s artistic talents are now living through you!!☺️ Thanks for sharing this story Novlet.

  • This is a Beautiful but profound piece Thanks for sharing❤️📝❗🥹

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.