Poets logo

A Fallen Star

An enigma existential

By Insinq DatumPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Fallen Star
Photo by John Fowler on Unsplash

A paragon perceptual

This marathon of meaning made

A past that is perpetual

The master may pretend he paid

x

The price of pain and sacrifice

A sultry sin which breeds akin

The dice do stain and yet suffice

To grant a grin as they so spin

x

Right through the air charting the chance

That demons dare to dance with you

And somewhere there a solemn stance

Is yet laid bare for death we drew

x

From decks stacked high towards the sky

As chaos cracked the common core

And worry wracked and led awry

A love that lacked a lovely lore

x

Beauty can be in you and me

A boundary that’s bounded by

A flame so free, so fiery

This game of glee, of gluttony

x

Is one I love to play with you

A sun so bright to stay alight

In push and shove and false and true

I know tonight this is my fight

x

And though I may yet mourn this day

I long to stay right by your side

This song I say is sung by fey

And so I play the part I spied

x

The thing that I was born to be

The fate that I cannot escape

The instance of duality

And so like so I then take shape

x

The course of course is static still

Remorse is not really a skill

This curse is coarse because the cage

Of verse looks like it is a stage

x

That upon which we were to stand

To watch ourselves perform this play

We love to switch from hand to hand

It helps pretend we hold some sway

x

In just which way the river flows

And who is who, for no-one knows

And where and when and what we are

A fading light, a fallen star

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.