Poets logo

A Drive Home

By: Kyle W. Parker

By Kyle ParkerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Leaving good friends behind

Back opening a door

With a blank face so blank that it’s full

Dragging my feet softly

I see my mode of death

I open the door, it creeks, I step

Lifting myself to sit

“Vroom vroom,” as the kids say

I turn right because left is too soon

Watching the light turn green

I, given permission

Turn left and twitch to test my own strength

Diagonally downward

I roll and flip in dreams

I feel my neck crack under pressure

I feel my final breath

Leaving my body slow

Ending life that wanted the opposite.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kyle Parker

Writing stories about what COULD happen while still remembering that things ARE happening. All art and writing is original.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.