Poets logo

A DREAM I DREAMT

NO MATTER HOW HARD I TRY, I CANNOT SHAKE THIS DREAM FROM ME

By Nneka AniezePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
A DREAM I DREAMT
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

Once in a blue moon, my dreams I do recall

a lot I dream, with nought to show when I alas awake.

but on this soulless night, with not a start to dust the sky,

I did my dream recall and with horror, promptly cringe.

This sleep activity was invited by my awake stupidity.

Forget I said stupidity, I happen to be my best abuser but

In this horrible sleep, I happened upon my child.

As cute as the gods dained and flying high was his energy still.

behold, a bowl of grapes, filled to the brim and falling afloor

This child of mine is but ten months. what business has he with them grapes?

But its a dream so up can be down and down can be fucked so walk and talk this baby did.

upon his two left legs, he walked to grab a greedy hand of grapes.

Dream oh dream, free me that I may rush to him and rescue his hide from death unknown.

Upon an unseen roots stood my left foot while the right fought for freedom.

Why couldn't I move? Might I suppose the universe considered his humour?

A mother is a little god but in this nightmare, I assumed a big god

For I invoked the pain and damned the stain as I ripped my rooted foot from the hinges.

They were hinges but pained like no hinges I knew.

Imagine with me, a panicked mama bunny, hopping to her baby.

I hopped, hopped, hopped and hopped some more but fate was a three-nippled bitch

As if in a dream, in this dreams I dreamt, he shovled further away the closer I hopped.

in earnest, the chocking began and I dove, not like a bunny. damn the bunny.

No, I dove like a twice pissed off python after a prey and the prey was my son.

I finally got my hands on him and hurray, right? Heimlick manuvour, yes?

Wrong, indeed we dream for I began to violently, shake my fruit of womb.

What horror, oh what horror for try as I could, I could not stop and neither did the wailing.

The grape emerged from his throat and then i was freed from the grip of dream, but to sleep again that night would be to challenge the gods themselves.

slam poetrysad poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.