Poets logo

A Discontented Winter

Stranger in the Icy Reflection

By Tina D'AngeloPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
18
A Discontented Winter
Photo by Fabrice Villard on Unsplash

The desolate chill numbed my soul

A winter like no other pressed me to the edge

Recoiling in horror at the heart I once knew

A stranger lived in my head

Someone I never knew existed

Pushing me closer and closer to the jagged, icy crevice

Silently stepping off solid ground into the void

Broken wings flailing at the laughing air

As I tumbled through the emptiness

//////////

Swallowing me up

with unthought words

I would have cut my heart out

And traded it for a bit of peace

Barely clinging to myself

Fears, delights, anxious nights

Scratching at the door of my mind

Begging for entrance as I pushed back

Against the frigid winds

That threatened the life I loved

////////

Spring breezes have melted the icicles that gripped me

Softly sweeping away the gray snow that blinded me

Bringing me home to myself

Letting me breathe again

Letting me feel again

Buds on the trees remind me

I survived

I made it though

This Winter of unbearable discontent

slam poetryheartbreak
18

About the Creator

Tina D'Angelo

G-Is for String is now available in Ebook, paperback and audiobook by Audible!

https://a.co/d/iRG3xQi

G-Is for String: Oh, Canada! and Save One Bullet are also available on Amazon in Ebook and Paperback.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    This made me so emotional! Very well done. And congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Heather N Kingabout a year ago

    I feel this.

  • Saad Zafarabout a year ago

    Great love this😍 Why not check my stories? https://vocal.media/fiction/annabelle-doll-true-story

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, that was masterful. Your descriptions were so incredibly compelling. Really great work :)

  • Farhan Mirza about a year ago

    awesome .

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Tina, that was a profound poem. I like how you describe depression and pain and their hold on the mind. It's very relatable. Thank you!

  • Awesome ✨ congratulations 🎉 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉💖

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Incredible! Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Beautifully written piece!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was beautiful! Well said Tina! 💜

  • Mark Gagnonabout a year ago

    Tina is back along with all her writing powers. Well done!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I love this so much. It’s good to see you back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.