Poets logo

A Deep Breath

The morning sun doesn't shine equally for everyone.

By H.H. CallaghanPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
A Deep Breath
Photo by v2osk on Unsplash

The golden sunrise waves to me,

Through the rippling water above,

Like a distorted visage of reality,

Contentment across my wetted mouth,

I will myself to sink deeper,

Below the surf, the sea quietens all,

The coolness of blue engulfs me,

This moment of true reflection,

To live within such absent vastness,

Nature has withdrawn man’s right,

Some struggle to just hold their breath,

Under the gold-heavy riptide above,

Oh! To be one with the ocean...

A boundless sovereign of blue immemorial,

Weightless as a babe, the flow carries me in its ebbing,

The water's surface greets me with an embrace,

Resolved, I take a deep breath of frigid air,

The sun basks my new intent with metallic shades,

A crown to be claimed just for a moment,

Vigor takes ahold of my purpose,

A beach alone in morning,

I wade the shallows to ponder life's motives,

The peace my existence craves,

I found respite to the hustle of human design,

Mental Healthsad poetrynature poetryinspirationalFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

H.H. Callaghan

I'm a writer of prose and verse and love all aspects of literature and storytelling. I am working on some big projects, so I hope you all like my work to come! I will be posting smaller pieces in-between, so please indulge in these too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    This felt so liberating! Your poem was so optimistic and uplifting! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.