Poets logo

A decade gone.

Grief through the alphabet

By VJHDPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
2
Wondering if you are here with me today?

As I watch the world go by from the corner of my cafe table,

Bewildered by the heat when it rained so heavily last night,

Cannot possibly fathom how I made it this far sometimes.

Death had plans that foiled our own, broke our rhythm.

Every year I have pondered on this day, do you recognise the date too?

For anyone else it’s just a date, for me it’s a tonne of bricks each year.

Good triumphs over evil less and less these days,

Heavily weighing on the hearts of those who know better.

I have often wondered how you would perceive the world to date,

Just keeping up with the news makes me wanna take a long nap.

Kindling for the fire that’s burning our world down around us,

Losing what little innocence we all still had to survive.

Meandering through life has become a habit, one I loathe at times-

No one notices the downward slope into hell this world has taken on,

Openly murdering all that life has to offer, in the name of progression,

Parting ways with love and kindness for politics and pride.

Quilting our memories together in my mind today, cingulomania takes hold of me.

Reading into every sign that comes my way in hopes to understand after all these years.

Singing songs on the radio today that tell me it is time to cry again.

Total devastation leaves a mark, but only to those who refuse to accept the reason, to never be ok with loss.

Underneath all my survival is a young person who forgot how to smile openly.

Volume in this world has gotten infinite but there is a mute button if you close your eyes, should I try it?

Wondering today if you’re here with me, holding your head in your hands too?

X marks the spot on my heart that quadruples in size on this day,

Yellow is the song I play today for it’s the colour I feel all year -

Zap! The lightning returned in the sky as my heart began to thump in anger again, I guess it’s time for a storm.

(Image from Google)

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Time really does fly by

  • Tommy Ballard4 months ago

    "For anyone else it’s just a date, for me it’s a tonne of bricks each year." Hits like a tonne of bricks as a line itself. Great poem, awesome submission to the challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.