Poets logo

A Day Spent ...

The playful thoughts of a tired mind ...

By Susan MarshallPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Do the jewels of evening light shine upon my eyes,

which droop heavily with fatigue from a day's age?

The sun set not long ago, along with the burning jour,

which creased a line of worry across my forehead.

The line is deep and burrowed,

like a water tunnel in a river.

The line veers off in many channels,

flowing in all directions.

The water builds and swells like a major tidal wave,

waiting for its chance to crash ...

-

Stepping back, I try to ignore my creased, growing lines.

For they are always there,

a reminder of a tiredness I cannot soothe

with enough sleep.

-

My eyes fall upon the jewels of evening light,

still glimmering softly in the distance,

emanating a warm, enticing glow that beckons to me.

I have tried swiping at their light,

to catch it in my bare, rough hands.

Hands raw from the hard work ...

of many a day's age.

-

I cannot reach the glimmer, as beautiful as it is.

It belongs to a time and a place that is unknown to me.

Far away from the clitter-clatter of a day spent ...

-

I have tried walking upside down,

to gain another view of a day.

The surfaces were worn and ragged beneath my feet,

sighing with fatigue as they carried my weight's burdens.

-

On travel, the worries jiggled and jumped upon my back,

almost bursting with a vibrant, new language.

Foreign and unknown words fell upon my keen ears,

which yearned to make sense of their formations.

Words with round sounds, that orbited in my head,

like a rotation of Earth in a day spent.

-

Words I wished I could wrestle and toss

high into the air so they could be

etched across the sky

in a language I could understand

that would describe my ...

very deep feelings.

-

Upside down, the jewels glimmer more sharply,

almost blinding my naked, green eyes.

I stare at them silently, taking in their refractions.

Angles of light sweep across the walls,

over the ground and my very bare feet.

Red, green, pink and purple gleams of light,

shining and revealing a world

I now see with my semi-awake eyes.

My eyes wish to close now, if only for a moment.

Sleep has become so foreign and non-existent

to my very creased existence.

-

The coloured lights glow,

opening new doors to enter.

Worlds that are unreachable to my over-thinking

and very tired brain.

Worlds that need the bittersweet beauty

of dreams to reach them.

Dreams I wish I could reach and live ...

Dreams that are sheer and light,

sharing their images freely and without the creases

I constantly feel weighing heavily upon my brows.

-

Closing my eyes, I stare passed the pitch black.

The red and blue light dapples softly as I enter my dreams.

The lights form into the shape of a kite,

from which flows a long, tasseled ribbon

that I clutch in my fingers.

A ribbon that carries the kite,

swaying and pulling it in the very silent,

stark wind.

A wind that waits for me to speak.

-

I do not wish to dwell on the past.

-

I am running freely now, flying the kite,

watching it soar in the air above.

If I let go of the kite, I could let it carry me ...

up into the air

and away ...

over the rooftops, the streets, the life I know,

landing softly onto the blank surface

that waits for my original story ...

of a new way to spend a day.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Susan Marshall

Susan Marshall is a contemporary Australian author, theatre practitioner and the founder of Story Playscapes. Her works: "Fleur of Yesterday," "All the Hope We Carry,", "Adira and the Dark Horse" and "Bare Spirit" are available globally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.