Poets logo

A Crash Course With Life

#VocalNPM

By Bianca WargoPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

A crash course with life,

Is like birth and death alike.

For moments come and moments pass,

Their gravity hitting like falling mass.

A crash course with life,

For all it takes to destroy it,

Is a single moment as seen fit,

By whoever our creator really is.

A crash course with life,

Is never easy, what happens, to write.

But yet we do, we put down on paper,

For the things harder make easier the latter.

A crash course with life,

Means waking up every day,

Whether to birds chirping songs,

Or crows screeching – nay to the foreward day.

A crash course with life,

How we are simply placed here,

In world more run by fear,

Than by choices only we should make.

A crash course with life,

How we are simply plucked out.

Only then do we grasp, that mount–

That peak–that we were meant to reach.

A crash course with life,

How we leave is mystery.

But how we live be for all to see,

Who we were, and who we wanted to be.

A crash course with life,

Means waking each day,

With a smile on your face,

Until come and go the cycle does.

A crash course with life,

As we look from up above,

Will we look down below, and

See to whom we have become?

Explanation

Life moves on, no matter how ready or not ready we are. When writing this, I thought a lot about how, for example, before a race (in swimming), my teammates will often ask if I'm ready, and I'll almost always say no. Regardless, the race will happen when it does, whether I'm ready or not. This year, I swam the 500 at championships; I was quite insistent that I was far from ready–then I dropped a little over 21 seconds. Looking back at that moment, I don't think I've ever had a happier moment for myself at a swim meet that I can remember, and it was all because life kept moving on, whether I felt ready or not.

art
Like

About the Creator

Bianca Wargo

Psychology and English Writing double major at Kean U

1 Thessalonians 4:3-8

Leaving my old writing up to go back sometimes and see how God's changed me to be better.

PODCAST: Gold Scars (available on Spotify & Anchor)

insta/TikTok: @biancawargo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.