Poets logo

A Coquette Conquered

Phinney loves you true an' deah?

By Maiya Devi DahalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

A Coquette Conquered
Photo by Wayne Lee-Sing on Unsplash

Yes, my ha't 's ez ha'd ez stone--

Go 'way, Sam, an' lemme 'lone.

No; I ain't gwine change my min'--

Ain't gwine ma'y you--nuffin' de kin'.

Phinney loves you true an' deah?

Go ma'y Phiny; whut I keer?

Oh, you need n't mou'n an' cry--

I don't keer how soon you die.

Got a present! Whut you got?

Somef'n fu' de pan er pot!

Huh! yo' sass do sholy beat--

Think I don't git 'nough to eat?

Whut's dat un'neaf yo' coat?

Looks des lak a little shoat.

'T ain't no possum! Bless de Lamb!

Yes, it is, you rascal, Sam!

Gin it to me; whut you say?

Ain't you sma't now! Oh, go 'way!

Possum do look mighty nice,

But you ax too big a price.

Tell me, is you talkin' true,

Dat 's de gal's whut ma'ies you?

Come back, Sam; now whah 's you gwine?

Co'se you knows dat possum's mine!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maiya Devi Dahal

I have a great passion to work for the overall betterment of women and children who have been facing a real hard time in their career aspects and lacking behind all the fundamental ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.