Poets logo

A Collection of Poems

My First attempt at writing poems

By Sean CheckleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Below are a collection of poems I have been working on for my creative writing course. The poems are a sonnet, free-verse, and ryhming and poems for children. So any feedback on any of the poems below will be most helpful.

AS I GO

As I go,

Around and around and around as I go,

Spinning losing step as I go,

Stumbling, fumbling, grumbling as I go,

Misplacing thoughts as I go,

As I go,

Feeling of control fleeting as I go,

A sense of disillusionment cascades down upon me as I go,

Visions of darkness feed me as I go,

Clouding and deceiving voices control me as I go,

As I go,

Swirling, circling, hurtful voices as I go,

Pain overbearing falling, falling as I go,

Forever more shall this continue as I go,

And around and around and around still as I go,

As I go.

Autumn’s Day

Dawn’s light breaks the night sky

A frost bitten ground crunches under my feet

The cool air is sharp upon my face

Robins sing to me as if it was at a concert

The light of the day glistens in spider’s webs

Crystallising nature into a thing of beauty

Distant grunting echos around the woods

For the stags have begun to rut

The artist’s pallet has washed over the trees

Reds, oranges, yellows

Lighten the leaves that scatter and fall to the ground

On this autumns day

Depression

The minds greatest compression

A ghostly unseeable infection

A haunting, voices in the air

What am I to do with all this despair

All my dark thoughts come to me like a confession.

The words crack with an impressive flare

B: Making it all unwilling to share

If over heard, it would lead to a section

Thoughts piling higher, and higher forcing regression

No need to care.

A doctor is needed for a session

Showing light onto all this oppression

Revealing that their is someone in there

These feelings are not all to rare

So this what they call depression.

A Global Effort

A summers breeze warms my feet

The warmth, almost to much to bare

God knows what to do about all this heat

This rising swelter we are all too aware.

”Fear not” he said, for the scientist’s will help

For solar panels, and wind turbines are the future

We pondered how this would be dealt

If only this was all done sooner.

The global effect of our own absent mindedness

Fighting and wounding ourselves

Greed, desire, and power blinded us

The fear of the end swells.

No time for any more quarrels

Act now upon these laurels.

CHILDREN'S POEMS

The Joys of Eating Cake

The joys of eating cake

The most delightful treat

My favourite is a cupcake

Its the best of the rest to eat

My dad say’s his is fruitcake

He thinks its really neat

But just makes my tummy ache.

All in my dream

The world within my dream

Has the most wonderful theme

Filled with all the flavours of ice cream

All topped of with whipped cream

Everyone say’s its so extreme

But I just dive right in, full steam

All in my dream.

HAPPY TAIL

My wagging happy tail

Always will have something to trail

It moves as fast as a fox and as slow as a snail

My wagging happy tail.

My Dog George Best

My dog is the best

He’s better than all the rest

He has a white chest

Like he’s wearing a vest

He eats nothing but chicken breast

My dog is the best

That why I named him George Best.

Dancing in Puddles

Dancing in puddles

Giggling and squealing away

Creating all kinds of bubbles

Thank goodness for rainy days

Mummy say’s that I’ll get into a mess

As the mud hits my face

But theres no need to stress

All of this is ace

Daddy only but laughs

Twirling and whirling

As we dance along this path

My world blurring

Getting in all kinds of a muddle

Head to toe covered in nothing but muddy spray

I’m in need of a cuddle

Oh what rainy day.

Puddles

Splish, splash, splosh

My feet are having a wash

While my Mummy say’s ‘oh gosh’

As I kick up all this backwash.

excerpts
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.