Poets logo

A Childhood Revisited

Movie Review

By StaringalePublished 17 days ago 2 min read
A Childhood Revisited
Photo by MARIOLA GROBELSKA on Unsplash

A Childhood Movie

Watched Through Adult Eyes

Bring Fond Memories

A Nostalgia's Embrace

And Echoes of Childhood Laughter.

Movie Stats: Lion King released on 15th June 1994. Produced by Don Hahn. A product of Walt Disney.

I am dragged outside the library by my annoying colleagues. My study plan is taking a quite drastic turn as now I am sitting on plump comfy green sofa facing a jumbo wide screen and the surrounded by the annoying colleagues carrying treats.

The study plan is now a movie plan.

Can't stay mad at them it has been a while since I got time to watch a movie. Wondering what they selected....

What do you think?

One thing that was weird was the empty theater room. Wasn't it supposed to be full before the start of the movie?

Turning my head to ask them the reason but I saw that they were wearing frustrated expressions on their face - finally they came back sat and I finally got to ask.

The movie was cancelled. Yea! My plan is back on but No! It is not because they just decided to watch whatever movie was about to play.

Now we are packed theater room 2 but another weird thing about this room is it is full of kid from nursery to prep - just what is going on?

Sitting at the back with the few adults in room the reason for the kids was clear.

The movie was 'Lion King'. Walking out of the room the kids running by carrying ting figures of simba was adorable. Let me share my thoughts on this movie.

When I watched this as a kid I loved the colorful animation. It was an unforgettable magical experience filled with memorable characters and a captivating story. I was in awe of the African landscape in the movie.

The deeper concepts in the movie was absent to me at that time but I still found myself cheering for Simba and booing the villain. It left a lasting impression on my young mind and heart.

Now when I rewatched it has an adult I must say I am still impressed with the animation but am able to see the deeper aspects in the story.

The conspiracy, loss, redemption, responsibility, courage, family are much more poignant to me now. The songs are fun and light that add a little cheer to your life.

So it doesn't matter if you are a kid or an adult just watch it. If you are an adult you will find a change in your perspective.

It can be said that it is a classic masterpiece that appeals to audiences of all ages.

Now sitting and sharing my views I feel grateful for the opportunity to revisit a memory from my childhood.

Have you watched it as an adult? Were you able see the darker concepts in the story?

inspirationalFriendshipFor FunFamilyfeaturereviewmoviecomedy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran16 days ago

    No I've not watched it as an adult but maybe I should. Thank you so much for sharing this

  • Shirley Belk16 days ago

    The Lion King is another version of Shakespeare's "Hamlet." I like The Lion King the best....loved little Simba!

  • What a joyful experience it was. Glad that you shared it with us.

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.