Poets logo

A Child’s Scrumptious Love

It Tells of Both Expectation and Frustration

By Stella Yan PhDPublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Image by the author

It is always hard

so so hard

to tell of the imprints left on my heart

by the lovely things I once laid my eyes on

and experienced the very first taste of love

*

What words should I use to describe

the heart and mind of an innocent child

who was born into a humble household

and could only imagine the world out there

*

My heart and my mind

were once as blank as they can be

waiting to be conquered

by the laughs and tears of life

*

I would not have known

of such a buttery sensation

had I not let my eyes be my brain for a brief moment

and shoved one of these down my belly

*

They came from a foreign country

Danish cookies gifted by my non-Danish aunt

Not knowing where Denmark was

a tint of shame struck but it melted away as I ate some more

*

It then crossed my simple mind

that foreign people somehow had a taste like mine

The sugary, buttery, delicious ride

tells of what people across the globe can share

*

For once or twice a year

my aunt might or might not bring them over

The taste of love could hurt a child’s heart

when it could not be fully satisfied

*

Love was a tricky feeling

Every bite that I took could be the last

this unease subtly troubled me

As a child battling it was not easy

*

Little did I know

the feeling of missing the cookies

had marked a milestone in my growth-

Love could be both expectation and frustration

*

A tasty episode of my childhood

The plain and the swirl,

the round, the pretzel, and the rectangle

they continue to reveal the scrumptious side of life

With gratitude, I share this treasure with my girl

and hope that buttery memory would spice up her days

one bite at a time

Gratitude
4

About the Creator

Stella Yan PhD

PhD in Physics. Residing in the US. Deeply engaged in the exploration of math, science, and personal introspection; truly amazed by the mysteries of the universe and the complexities of the human mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer30 days ago

    If I take the lid off a tin of these and it actually has these biscuits inside, it's like the best day of my life!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Loved it!!!♥

  • Paschal Mmesomaabout a month ago

    I really love this 🙂 please can we be friends I want to get more insight on writing. I anticipate your reply. This is my IG paschal_xez

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.