Poets logo

A Case Of The Silly’s

Imagine my surprise, all I could see

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
14
A Case Of The Silly’s
Photo by Will Myers on Unsplash

I awoke this morning in a daze

Checked my phone, it’s Sunday,

I don’t seem to have any memory

Of what I did at all on Saturday.

***

I opened the fridge as I’m hungry

Imagine my surprise, all I could see,

Refuse and rubbish on the shelves

So where on earth could the food be?

***

I decided I needed to head to the shop

But first point of order is a shower,

Imagine my surprise, all I could see

The bath is totally filled with flowers.

***

This is getting stranger by the minute

Heading to the bedroom to dress,

Imagine my surprise, all I could see

My wardrobe is a nothing but a mess.

***

I found the food from the fridge

It’s all mixed in with my clothes,

A mess is being extremely polite,

As the smell alone, is on the nose.

***

Oh well I’ll need to do a load of wash

Taking clothes to the washer and dryer,

Imagine my surprise, all I could see

Both machines had been set on fire.

***

Maybe I should head on back to bed

Am I dreaming or is this a nightmare,

If I go back to sleep, will I awaken

Happily finding no mess anywhere?

***

Let me first check the rest of the house

I wandered through room after room,

Imagine my surprise, all I could see

My cats dressed in frilly costumes.

***

That’s it, I’m obviously going insane

It must have been me, as I live alone,

Yesterday must be a case of the silly’s

And I’ll reawaken to my normal home.

************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.