Poets logo

A Calamity of Colors

Finding Peace Amid the Mess

By Margot CasePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
A Calamity of Colors
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

I welcomed in the chaos

Filled my life up to the brim

With colors and calamity

All that life can bring

I desired the vibrant things

The ones that shined the most

So I experimented with every shade

And allowed chaos to be my host

I was shifting with the winds

Leading with defiance in my heart

Unsure of what I wanted

And unsure of my own part

I knew I needed change

One that would bring true joy

So I tried on a hue

That wasn't destined to destroy

A simple, neutral beige

Mundane among the noise

A color that offered the perfect space

To really listen to my voice

Now introduced to a way of living

That didn’t shine or gloss

Beige is where I discovered

Calamity doesn’t have to be my boss

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Margot Case

an elementary educator finding her way through trial and error

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.