Poets logo

A broken heart's lament

Love's bond broken

By Esther AmiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Once my heart was full of hope,

But now it lies in ashes.

The fire of love that once burned bright,

Now nothing but forgotten flashes.

I thought our love was unbreakable,

A bond that could not be severed.

But now I'm left with a heartache,

My love for you forever treasured.

The memories of your touch,

Still linger in my mind.

But now they bring me pain,

Love of you, I cannot find.

I try to move on from the past,

And start a brand new day.

But the thought of you not being there,

Will always stay.

I thought our love was forever,

But forever isn't true.

Now I am left here alone,

My heartache is all because of you

I hurt everyday because I loved

But should love heart? Must it be this hard?

I give up trying to understand

The ways of love

My heartache will not cease

Because I understand love

Neither will I be free from the pain

Of watching you walk out the door

For truly, who can ever really understand

The ways of love?

Maybe it is in the msytery

That we truly appreciate love

The 'not knowing how it ends'

The feelings of doubt and fear

Maybe these make love just what it is

Fr truly, would we ever love is we knew

How it would end?

Would love be everything it is

If we had all the lessons before the journey?

I am learning to appreciate the journey of love

To understand that it is in the pain;

In the highs and lows that I truly learn

The beauty of love, its very essence

So maybe I will hope again

To love and be loved

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.