Poets logo

A Brewer's Craft

#VocalNPM

By Colleen SilkPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Behind the wooden bar and brass colored taps, you can find a bold and a passionate fellow, who knows quite a bit about this fascinating craft.

"What may I interest you in" he quickly asks "From a crisp-refreshing pilsner to dark roasted stout, I think we can satisfy whatever it is that will quench your glasses drought."

With a look of confusion (understandably so) and a scratch of my brow, "I'm afraid to say, this is pretty foreign to me. What would you suggest for someone who doesn't dabble to frequently?"

"How about a flight, of my favorite brews, and I'll tell you a bit about each and what it is that we do?"

As he fills the small glasses and places them down so delicately, he begins to speak, and I know I am in for an interactive treat.

"From tank to tap, and all that is between, to achieve the perfect brew, there are very specific steps you must master before you do."

"From crushed malts and hop pellets to mashing and wort, rising and falling temperatures—this adult science project is probably much more than you thought."

As I look down at the bar in front of me, a muted colored rainbow of small glasses, topped with a foam-like cloud, is what I see.

"From left to right, is how we will taste," with a mad-scientist look upon his face.

"Start with the Pale Lager, then Blonde Ale, and then the Red Ale. Last but not least, a favorite around here, a dark roasted Coffee Stout, that just can't be beat."

"Now before you dive right in with haste--take a look, a sniff, a sip, and then you may taste."

"Bready and biscuits, sweet and dry, caramel and toasted, coffee and roasted?" I repeat back quickly.

"You've got a good nose for someone who wasn't so confident. Are you sure you aren't a savant?"

"Ha." I chuckled "No, not me. Just really appreciate someone who talks so passionately. This was certainly more than just a beer, but a crash course on something that I will be sure to take with me."

"Cheers to you and yours, I'll be sure to come back and enjoy a few more with you."

With a raised glass in his hand and a stroke of his beard, the brewer proclaims—" One last thing before you leave, I bet you didn't know to serve a proper pint, the glass you provide must always be clean!"

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Colleen Silk

I am married, a dog mom to two PitMix rescues, restaurant consultant and media marketing manager, living and working from home in sunny South Carolina, with the occasional work trips to snowy Chicago.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.