Poets logo

A Book of Brian

Is he imagined? Can he be real?

By Jan PortugalPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
RECOMMENDED WATCHING THE VIDEO BEFORE READING

Watching him perform - listening to his songs is like God teaching us how to love one another.

Listening to all things Brian Wilson

Is like rising and falling on a Carnival ride

Is like floating in a swelling mellifluous tide

Is like vibrating between the lowest lows and the highest highs

Is like meeting myself unfettered in his melodies

Feeling the door to my heart open wide

Releasing euphoria to fathomless heights

Flooding my sensibilities

His classical harmonies take flight

~ When it's real

I think of Brian like a cosmic friend

remembering a time when he was young

before life shook him awake and detoured

his wonder of perfect love

 then sent him forever seeking it

*

I choose him as a worthy guide when 

I wander into the mortal playground 

where things come and go 

And never participate in

Purity or beauty

sometimes I get lost

*****

Lost in the infinite labyrinths 

that confuse and prevent entering

The mighty space of unthought 

The place where radiant love continues to flow

And liberates confusion unsought

A place unreachable because it’s 

the other side of what we know

*

When I think of you my ethereal

friend dancing in the ether's - I’m aware

We are not the hellish confinement 

of this body mind that hides our true happiness

*

To consider you as my treasured mentor

I wake up to a greater love

Intoning a song created by you

That alters my vision

because it is real

because its from God

~ it’s a start

Exquisite sadness intertwined

with absolute devotion

His humility sends me to my knees

imagination running wild he bends

his head down and love pours out

He rises from dark moody wounds

to die in a dream

and wake up with nature

emerging from the water

reinvented and clear headed

declaring the end of one thing is

the start of another

~ Rhapsodic Melodies

When Brian writes a song

Look somewhere up in the blue

thats where he’ll be

spiraling toward the illimitable cosmos 

listening in the mist for celestial harmonies

Experiencing real freedom non-physical

floating between chorus - verses and riffs

a timeless traveler adrift

writing songs from words of depth

Whispered into his soul by God himself

Surfs up...a beautiful pocket symphony from SMILES

"Singing to someone is the best way to be close" ~ Brian Wilson

celebrities
4

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.