Poets logo

A~Baby, the Dream

Part I of III

By MaryBethHicks-kbhPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
lil A~Baby

A-Baby, the Dream

Years from now it was, but a familiar neighborhood

It was time, the bus had come and gone

Where is she?

Searching frantically, one block to the next

then back so antically1…

Me ~ a total wreck, I’d better check

“It’s been awhile now, is she home now?”

Cutting in and around houses, and again the alley

Cars parked here and there, like Silly-Sally

Eye spy, movement sideways to the side

but in a hurry still was I,

over my shoulder, it became colder…

Oh my, is it? Is it really her? ~ Dear God, hold her…

“What are you doing in that car, with that guy?!?”

WORRIED ~ “Do you realize I would’ve died?!?”

tears well up in her eye…

“You care now, WHY?!!? You left and lied…

needed you most at that time…was me!”

A cloudy chilled day,

as if I were a bell tower incarnate, Her words rang

around it…

legs failing, collapsing

I began to sob uncontrollably, unconsolably, aLL so knowingly

She was right, a promise I did break

never real, just a fake

never again would it to be like bait

I let her down.

lost I had, and He…he was glad

and Me just sad, sad, sad

and Me still held, pulled…pulled egregiously to the ground

By: MaryBethHicks-kbh, aka ‘Me-maw’

May 2015 [Copy Rights]; Revised: 2017 [Copy Rights]

[1] antically © \\adjective; depicted, specifically, for this this limerick.

Definition: slang \\ a combination of words: "frantically" and “antic”¬ to "antically".

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

MaryBethHicks-kbh

Freelance Writer/Artist, Author, Consultant, Resume Service & Genius; CEO:TROAPW Associates @ https://www.facebook.com/kellyb8888.mgkyo/

"I am an OCD extrovert, Word-Nerd, documented Genius, & never will I apologize for being outspoken."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.