Poets logo

5 7 5

the things that made me

By VKTPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
5 7 5
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Red eyes sting to blink

Words that smell of roses but

It is just perfume

-

Orange mornings come

I’m a new person each sun

You stay the same though

-

Yellow teeth asking

Is my story based on things

That happened to me

-

Green proves the season

I grow from the inside out

Not the outside in

-

Blue since the fifth grade

Storms did not make the ocean

I weathered many

-

Indigo skin heals

Broken souls mend uneven

Never look the same

-

Violet nights come

I can see you in the dark

But not in the light

-

Pinky promise that

My story is based on things

I chose to become

-

Clear your throat to say

How you choose to define me

I am always more

-

Light bends never breaks

Colors show after rough seas

But were always there

-

Shadows made from light

Hiss you are nothing without

What they put you through

-

Blackholes start as stars

You let your trauma shape you

It sucked the life out

-

White lies speak your truth

Mine is told before the womb

I made me, not you

-

Some colors I picked

Some colors were picked for me

I am what I chose

inspirational
2

About the Creator

VKT

Published Illustrator. Work in Progress Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.