Poets logo

4 Tankas

A mini collection of tanka poems

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
6
4 Tankas
Photo by Natali Quijano on Unsplash

For several years, I’ve been studying, exploring and writing tanka poetry. Although I don’t mind trying out rhyming poems and exploring the art of writing rhyming poems, I prefer other formats like free-verse, cinquain, tanka, acrostic, prose, haibun, haiku and micro poetry, because I find them simpler to follow and write. I like that they don’t focus on rhyming and rather on syllables and/or the message being conveyed.

Tanka poems are basic Japanese poems that include 5 lines and a 5-7-5-7-7 syllable count. The term “tanka” means “short song” in Japanese. The types of literary devices that are utilized in tanka poetry are personification, metaphors and similes to enable visualization. Tanka poems can be about nature, people, food, animals and other fun poetry topics however, common tanka poetry subjects include relationship issues, dating, friendship, family, trauma, grief, loss, rejection, mental illness, and spirituality.

Now that you know a little bit about tanka poems, I invite you to read this small collection of tanka poems I wrote!

1. Video Games

By Ravi Palwe on Unsplash

On the comfy chair

with my iPad in my lap

I solve free puzzles

like Letter Fridge, Panda Pop,

Word Craze and Kitty Scramble.

2. Out In The Open

By Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Unshared tales

destroy my self-confidence,

roast my self-respect,

and hinder me from speaking

about what I think and feel.

3. Flummoxed

By Alex Hand on Unsplash

I don’t know which way

to turn, enter and exit,

because I’m lost in my

unlit and tangled labyrinth

that I still run around in!

4. Popcorn

By Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

I wanted to go

to the movie theatres

just so I could eat

that coloured paper bag of

buttery, cheesy popcorn.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read this small collection of tanka poems. If you currently write tanka poems or are wanting to learn about tanka poetry, this will be a good resource for you to use! If you enjoyed these poems, please give this collection a ❤️, share it with others and show your appreciation and support by sending me a tip/pledge! To find more exciting content, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile! Stay tuned for more great content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG Profile: @tdwrites24

Facebook: Talia Devora

By Pawel Nolbert on Unsplash

#poetrycollection #tankapoetry #passionatepoet #vocalpoetry #vocalpoet #focusonthegood #sharingmymemories #pastimesienjoy #whatitrulybelievein #lovewhatyoudo

list
6

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.