Poets logo

3800 (09/18/2020)

“The average life expectancy of a transgender woman of color is 35 years. I’m about to turn 25 in February.”

By Apollo SQPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
5
Take me down like the nude image you turn me into. I will stand back up.

3800 days left to live.

A big number when you’re five or six

But looking over my past

3800 days

That number shrinks with the passing of age.

3800 days I’ve been surviving.

3800 days and

Not one wasted on a breath.

Not one did I wake up past eight AM and think

“Today I will be okay.”

“Today I don’t have to worry.”

“Today I can live for today.”

3800 days

Every moment must be utilized.

3800 days

Slip away like grains of sand.

3800 days

Building, building, building.

For what day will be my last?

For what day will I finally break and

Disappear?

For when will those

3800 days

Vaporize like dew?

“Don’t sell yourself short, girl,”

“You have so much life”

But the difference between life and death

Is razor thin,

Much thinner with every passing

Day.

It’s my fault if I’m cut short.

It’s my fault if I fail.

It’s my fault if I am not

3800 steps ahead of the reality.

Do not tell me to not mourn the days I lose

When I am already losing

Over half of what you have.

3800 days and the sun just set.

3800 days and midnight just passed.

3800 days

I’ve done so much

But for what

If I only have

3799 more days

To ensure it lasts?

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Apollo SQ

Documenting existence as a queer person through poetry. I aspire to publish my work some day and become a professional writer so that I can tell our stories. 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.