Poets logo

3 poems in one because minimum word counts are a thing

subtitle

By Jay,when I writePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
3 poems in one because minimum word counts are a thing
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Here are three poems that would be far too short to be accepted, but I feel they should see the light of day. I think the second is my favorite because I realized it could mean something else entirely, and poems that are like that are...fun.

1.Fresh canvas, not for me

I never understood how painters could just paint over their last piece to start anew

I don't even delete old passages in my writing,

I just open a new tab

------------------------

2. Yum

of all the hearts in the world

I'm

Glad I have yours

for dinner tonight

-------------------------

3. all cursing the sky

A rain fell over a dry town

and all anyone could do was curse the sky

I understood their pain;

there was hope in me

I stood and cursed at the sky

to not give it away

list
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.