Poets logo

24

.....

By Harydo NeonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

The last year was a tormoil and relief

A fight between who I am and my beliefs

To be so lost that you only want to be found by yourself

Never to open, but locked inside the shelf

I guess that's growth, it first has to get worse

Like a man walking the earth, trying to get rid of his cross

Like snakes, just without the hiss

I think I shedded alot, and I don't mean skin

Friend groups? No that's dissolved

I just have friends scattered like Jacob's son

I don't want to hurt people around me due to my hurt

So I am happily closing up that door

My life has these holes that I am trying to fill up

I feel like to people I am a cup, disposable ones

My worst fear is I feel I treat people the same way

Forget prodigal, I am the hypocritical son

Good at bad decision and bad at taking good ones

I haven't heard from my bestfriend, I miss her so much

But I hope she knows that I love her and understand

That like bad scissors, I am bad at cutting but willing to hand

The Tulip, the one that withstood it all

Tried sabotaging and it still wouldn't fall

Even when the winter called

You still found a way to sprinkle pollens on my soil

Remember what I write is how I feel

Could be momentarily or real deal

I used to feel I needed to check up on all my friends

But that weight on me? That's not fair

So here's to 24, a reminder of my imperfections

A test to a next exam

If I've hurt you, this is my apology

I am trying to be a better me

Epiphany with beer in one hand and pen on the right

trying to adjust my bending lampstand.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.