Poets logo

22 & Bored: Tangible Brushes

"I'm no longer miserable for I'm 22."

By Jay EvansPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

I’m no longer miserable for I am 22-

Once was a man stuck in folie a deux,

Not to brag but my artful hands still never make trash.

Every scissor scrap is a new piece to adapt.

For echo scratched holes have found their sound,

And blacked out rings can sing for themselves.

I am reborn,

No longer depressed-

But my hair’s still a mess,

And I’m cashing in checks,

And no simmer in bad breath.

Not the breath out my mouth but breathing in the cold shoulders I’ve learned to have smolder in sot.

I no longer rot,

Picking freedom as a bonus for new thoughts.

My perfect disguise-

Now a long lullaby knocking me to sleep.

For sleep is a memory of the good times.

For I can’t find the semantics and nuances that keeps me from leaving this town.

A city chasing its own crown from an old town.

I no longer chase you,

For there’s a new me-

A new brew.

Chasing my own freedoms and wills with blank canvases in return.

I wanna go back to sleep.

Back to sleep with blissful dreams and not a melancholy melatonin melody marauding it’s pleasantries in cultivated memories of wishful thinking and heavy hearts.

Fuck that’s a mouthful,

From arguing back feuds-

And saying that I am through!

Through the rigor and pajamas,

I wish that God had planned us-

To be together once or many twice again.

For in your arms is heaven sent.

Your ember eyes,

Sun kissed skin,

And finger painted smiles that last for a while.

For through my trials-

Your broken brushes have become my artful hands.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Jay Evans

Just a guy who's 22 and bored, looking for new meanings to life and going about it one sock at a time... even if the sock has a hole in it

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.