Poets logo

2024

of course!

By daphne grayPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2

I wake up and put my mother’s jewelry back.

The raw, red, soles of my feet ache as I tiptoe across wooden floors, sticky with something I'm reluctant to clean.

My throat is sore, although I sang and screamed, it's more than likely from my cough.

I see the sun, bright and blazing, I’m about to drive for 50 minutes, I should get my sunglasses.

I’ve cleaned more champagne glasses than I can count on both hands, and I want to rest on my sofa, but it’s not yet back in the living room.

I’m three fourths of the way through my book, I’ve already set my reading goal for this year. Something more achievable than last’s, considering I had to lower it thrice.

My nails are streaky and smudged, I won’t have the time to re-do them. Maybe tomorrow.

Stream of ConsciousnessFor FunFirst Draft
2

About the Creator

daphne gray

just a girl in this world who thinks a lot and writes a lot and some of it makes sense and some of it doesn't. enjoy nevertheless.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    I love this!

  • This felt so poignant. Hope you're okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.