Poets logo

2013

Year of Fear

By Celious BlancPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was the year of fear, and I lost my way

What can I say? My ego got in the way.

I was the bass drop junkie, swept up by the chunky

Hair does and strange guys, I let myself get wrapped up inside.

It was the year of impression

And of wanting the attention

What was I inventing

Inside those tangled white lies?

I was the shiny-eyed smoker

Drink spilling joker

Poppin pills and keepin up

But then it all just got fucked up

I was in too deep

In the year of false repeats

Splattered images of deceit

DJs spinning on repeat

Falling down a deep, dark hole

Of self destruct and no control

Spinning round and round to Britney

Single Ladies wasn't by Whitney

Too afraid to admit I was wrong

Too afraid to sing the right song

Sucking down on home made bongs

Hurting people who'd known me long

False pretence and lack of sense

Buying drugs with my last two cents

Killed my soul too soon to grow

Rebirthed inward just to show

It was the year of fear and there I stood

How did I think this would end up good?

Callous jokes and candid hopes

Inside my mind spiralled shapes and ropes

Sending myself backwards in so many ways

It was the year of fear, counting down my days

But here I stand in the year of hope

I never thought I'd be able to cope

Never thought the light would shine

Now I believe it's truly my time

That's the way life goes sometimes

Around each corner something new to find

So even though that was the year of fear

Without that darkness, I wouldn't be here.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Celious Blanc

a poet since birth

running in the wind

head in the stars

soul in my eyes

a contradiction of emotion

an abstract perception

an involuntary whisper

a shadow in the light.

@celiousblanc

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.