Poets logo

200

A Happy Haiku

By D. J. ReddallPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

Two hundred stories:

Sonnets, haikus, ekphrastics;

Vocal, I remain!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I owe an enormous debt of gratitude to many, intrepid Vocal contributors who have inspired, encouraged, challenged and cajoled me as I have tried to leave the stuffy, pretentious realm of academic writing behind in favor of poems and stories and bibliomaniacal babbling.

In particular, I ought to laud the dauntless courage of Rachel Deeming and Gerard DiLeo, who have taken up the gauntlet hurled before us by the inimitable L.C. Schäfer! We have almost conquered a third of the year; here is to publishing rather than perishing, at least once a day, for the rest of 2024! Mark Gagnon's impatience with habitual poets recently inspired me to write a short story rather than yet another poem, and Ward Norcutt's work, and his wit and wisdom, have been especially valuable of late. All of their works are linked below for your delectation. Write on, friends!

I ought also to pay homage to the queen of commentary, Dharrsheena Raja Segarran, who has offered an encouraging word or sly joke almost every, single time I have dared to post something to Vocal:

I could go on, but I am sure it is clear by now that Vocal is a vibrant creative community which has made me a more able and inspired writer. I am grateful to every reader and writer I have had the pleasure of meeting here and hope that those ranks will continue to grow!

Haiku

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh3 months ago

    Hurrah! Hurrah!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    Congrats on 200!

  • Jean McKinney3 months ago

    This is really inspiring for me, a total newbie to Vocal! Thanks to your shout-outs, I've now learned of some wonderful new writers to explore. Vocal does seem like a true community of dedicated writers with unique voices.

  • Awww DJ, that was such a pleasant surprise! Thank you so much for always putting up with my silly and morbid antics hehehehe. Congratulations on 200 pieces and here's to more! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Kodah3 months ago

    Congrats on the 200th story/piece!!! 🙌🥳💝

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Well, D.J., I thank you. 200? It's the tip of a glorious iceberg, I hope. Here's to many, many more. I will certainly be looking forward to reading more of your wonderful creations, in all of their varied forms. Publish or perish! The writers' motto! And here we are, continuing to do just that. Onwards and upwards, my friend!

  • Suze Kay3 months ago

    So glad to have you on here, D.J.! Congrats on your 200th piece :)

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.