Poets logo

2 AM

Poppy’s Prompt Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
18
2 AM
Photo by Lasse Møller on Unsplash

Here is the prompt:

It does not feel real

(a glow in the dark)

*

No one is really up now

(green and red light lined up)

*

This is when you go to bed

(look at it; take a peek)

*

This is when you have to sleep

(let it stay in your head)

*

Not a time for transition

(many hours before you rise)

*

Should think…or not think

(too long before I get to it)

*

Wish I had a silent mind

(maybe I need to write)

*

The challenge is stuck in my head

(the screen light hurts my eyes)

The Bard knew...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryMental Healthhow toFirst Draftfact or fiction
18

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • NJ4 months ago

    Love this Kendall!

  • Poppy 4 months ago

    Wow, the structure of this was so impactful. The two line stanzas were so captivating and the use of brackets made it so powerful. My favourites parts was the opening line and "Wish I had a silent mind". I really felt the melencholy and frustration in this.

  • I hate those nights I cannot sleep almost as much as those mornings (or afternoons) when I cannot get up.

  • Catsidhe4 months ago

    Very well done!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Wish I had a silent mind...very 2am.

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I just had one of those nights. Eyes hurting, squinting into the screen as sleep jeers and prances just out of reach. This is so on point right now. Wonderfully said K. How were those bards so wise, I wonder.

  • This was so sad 🥺 Loved your take on Poppy's prompt!

  • Oh well said... clever use of the prompt! I have three family members who have sleep issues & are regularly awake for several hours around 2:00 am! I'm blessed to usually sleep through it all.

  • Catherine Nyomenda4 months ago

    I wish I had a silent mind too. Great, just great.

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    nice

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    "Should think…or not think" (to be or not to be)...love that old bard :)

  • Sid Aaron Hirji4 months ago

    This speaks to my insomnia. Always sad everyone is asleep while I'm awake

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    I hate those late-night calls of the pen—or screen, as the case may be—when your mind just won’t shut up no matter how much you want it to. Well done on capturing that, and with a nice steady rhythm as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.