Poets logo

12:25am

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Grappling with stolen images, I awake to find the dark.

The night owl’s flight sounds boisterously in my ears

And my head screams with the pounding of blood

Coursing through my veins.

Thoughts scramble and clutter through my mind,

Clogging my sense of direction.

Subjects that have waited forever for a chance to be heard

Run in chaos around the corners of my brain.

The very depths of my soul itch with an anticipation

That relies solely on one decision.

A decision that hides in the shadows,

Just out of reach where I can feel it

But never touch it.

Drifting hopelessly

Through endless longings and yearnings…

…I try to focus on sleep.

Or rather any mindless task

That could create a small sanctuary

For my ever-captivated symphony of emotions.

Daydreams become nightmares.

Sighing becomes crying.

And whilst I sit back in an attempt

To decipher these happenstances,

My whole being is seeping with the puss of negativity

That surrounds so many lives.

Try as I might to scrape the pores clean of this dark matter,

I often find it both trying and difficult

To branch through the canopy

To the rays of light I know await me.

The feeling of bliss one can only find

After dealing with the cacophony

Of anger and sadness that breeches all, and stands

Inexorably in the way of your well-being.

The day will come

When light will win over the darkness.

And until that day I will maintain my hope

And take comfort in my reluctant state of self.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.