Poets logo

1,931 People with 200 Stars

Little Comforts in a Largely Uncomfortable World

By Amber Marie CielPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I count the stars on my ceiling.

As the life slowly seeps from their plastic bones

They dim.

My own mind, alongside.

I lose count.

I still count the stars on my ceiling.

As the life still seeps from their plastic bones

They dim, still.

My own mind, alongside, still.

I still lose count.

I count the stars on my ceiling once more.

As the life seeps from their plastic bones, once more.

Once more, they dim.

Once more, my own mind follows alongside.

I lose count, once more.

For once, I give up.

I count the stars on my ceiling

By waking up my phone, asleep beside me.

It’s harshly comforting glow shows me

> Amazon.ca

> 200 piece glow in the dark star set

> 19.99

> One day shipping

> 1,931 positive reviews

As the life continues to seep from their plastic bones

I wonder

Do 1,931 people look at these stars above them,

Just as I do?

Then do they lose track,

And check amazon,

Like I just did?

As they continue to dim

I wonder

Do those 1,931 people

Ever look at the stars on the ceiling outside?

Do I?

As my mind continues to fade alongside

I wonder

Do we 1,931 people only look at these plastic bones that scatter our homes

And watch them dim

As our minds do the same

Because the infinite, unwavering stars on the ceiling outside

Just don't seem as bright?

social commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amber Marie Ciel

Hi! I'm a film graduate student born in Canada, raised by a British parent in Hong Kong, now living in Shenzhen China. I'm a little all over the place. For the most part I'm just looking to ramble into the void we call the internet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.