Poets logo

1:30

Broken

By Courtney ErinPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo taken by Courtney Erin

My flesh burns as another drop rolls down.

My skin swollen,

Flaming,

Damp.

The tissue no longer feels soft as it brushes away the hurt.

Its’ rough edges cutting into me,

Setting me a blaze.

My pain now holding two forms.

It’s all too much,

And I break.

I’ve been doing so well to hold myself together but the glue has finally let go.

My former self shattering as I release all that is within me.

What used to bring me joy has now become my nemesis.

The distance made me stronger,

But now it’s what’s tearing me apart.

I blink and another droplet finds its’ way down over the swollen flesh,

Stinging as it descends.

Is this what it’s all come to?

There’s nothing more than short hellos and quick goodbyes.

Lonely days followed by screened nights.

Instead of taking any steps forward, I have been taking them all back.

I am stuck.

Simultaneously it is too familiar and completely different.

I have been here before,

Alone,

Sad,

Purposeless.

Another drop.

I am in new territory.

Love,

Longing,

Distance.

To be so close but never reaching it,

To look but never touch,

To know but never able to act upon,

To finally understand what I want but I can’t have.

One more drop.

The burning becomes more intense as the skin now becomes raw.

My eyes are throbbing,

Begging for relief.

My pain not only displayed within my mind but manifesting itself.

Why can’t I just stop?

Or at least drift into slumber?

Why must my mind insist on tormenting me?

But then again, what would sleep do?

Tomorrow is just another day in the same.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Courtney Erin

My life in a nutshell: small town living, my fiancé, music, God, and an obsession with poetry...literally obsessed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.