Photography logo

Who's who in the zoo

is it me, or is it you

By ADHD AccountantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Who’s who in the zoo (is it me, or is it you)

by the ADHD Accountant

Years ago I read a book, though not particularly relevant it was one of the Ender books by Orson Scott Card, and part of the story was about how a fence can be keeping people in, or keeping out, and that it can often be a matter of perception.

Some of my closest encounters with wildlife have been during activities where I didn’t have time, or access, to an appropriate camera. Swimming in the ocean off the coast of Maui, hiking in Banff and Ucluelet, portaging and quadding across Manitoba. Hell, even few times here in the city I have encountered Deer, Coyote, and even a very confused Moose.

Most recently, and with the best camera I have ever owned, I caught a fine feather fowl who’d run afoul of our “fence.” Hard at work I was bemused, befuddled, and bewildered (a fine state to be in), to hear my new coworker shouting to be let in. Or, perhaps it was for me to come out? He had a strong Poulish accent.

To me the windows were both to keep the unwanted out, and to keep me in, off the balcony. Also, they won’t let me put a BBQ out there. I think you can all understand the appeal, of a nice BBQ meal? Perhaps some chicken. It doesn’t really matter. What is interesting is that the window is a barrier that keeps us out, and in.

In this case I succeeded in capturing my feathered friend on figurative film, for future posterity. As a casual employee in this covid economy he didn’t stay long before flying off to his next job, and as he left I envied him his freedom. In that moment I was the one trapped behind the glass.

The moment was fleeting, as was my visitors’ stay. I went to the kitchen and got a nice pot of tea going before going back to my desk in the climate-controlled office that is, to my transitory watcher, my own zoo enclosure where I go about my normal activity, as I would do in the wild.

Like many things in life success is the crossroads of opportunity and preparation. Modern technology, waterproof and portable, has brought the required preparation down significantly. That includes storage, too. Before albums would bow shelves under their weight and ink would fade on their spines making reviewing those memories a specific task to be taken in a specific location. A roll of film limited the number of photos you could take at a time. Cloud storage has certainly changed access issues as well. I can easily send, or post on social media, at any time, from anywhere (access to internet required).

For this photo it was merely required of me to be willing to act on the opportunity. An easy choice, at the time, but still a choice that I had to make. And a model, musing over the strange sights before him. Through the window we both felt safe, neither of us worried. I was able to take several photos and even a little video.

At the end of the day it is clearly not a spectacular shot. The window reflects light, the camera focus isn’t great. I’m not really sure what the correct terms are to describe how the aperture could have been better, or the shutter speed was stuttered.

It is a memory, and a wonder, of coming face to face with another of natures creatures. The journey wasn’t about what I had to go through physically to get the shot; it wasn’t about time or patience. I didn’t plan it or coordinate. The struggle here was for perspective. It was about considering new ideas and old, recognizing that life is much more complicated than I had thought. And, in my glass enclosed office I really had to wonder who’s who in the zoo.

A photo is worth a thousand words, and can capture facts, feelings, and viewpoints that challenge us and encourage us to grow. As a viewer we struggle to interpret what the photographer wanted to convey. But, perhaps, just perhaps, the best photos are those that made the photographer grow and invite us along on their journey. Then again, what do I know?

Finally, I referred to my guest as a he because really - wouldn’t a Lady have had much more common sense?!

<<END SONG: BLOODHOUND GANG – THE BAD TOUCH >>

art
Like

About the Creator

ADHD Accountant

I enjoy writing, fountain pens, excel, and helping people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.