Photography logo

River Lagan Walks. Part Twenty One,

Climate Change or Bird Flu 2022.

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like
It’s beginning to look a lot like Autumn!

Once this River Lagan Walk begins just after the John Luke Bridge in South Belfast, this is because I am keeping an eye on Mother Nature in all her guises to watch the Stranger Things I am seeing within Nature this 2022.

It is 17th of October and still most of the trees are holding on to their leaves this October 2022, and if you read my earlier River Lagan Walks here on Vocal.Media, from last year and before, you will be able to see the Autumn’s of the past compared to Autumn 2022.

Its good to Walk

It is good to see others out and about in Mother Nature with their pets and children, or simply by themselves for their health, mental health and well-being, and in my case for all the above, plus for my photography, writing, Brain Injury Matters NI projects, poetry and various social media sites, and photography sites I am on.

Reflections of a Little Grebe

This is my third photograph of this walk, which is about a mile further in from my first two photographs, which just goes to show how devoid the River Lagan Towpaths are of birds this October 2022.

Even the Heron’s and Kingfisher’s are missing this October and the trees and bushes are without birds songs, which is really strange, so a beautiful Little Grebe is a welcome distraction from the silence of the River Lagan Towpaths this Autumn 2022.

Standing on Broken Nature

My first Robin Red Breast on this River Lagan Walk, which was a mile and half into this walk.

Normally by that mileage dozens of Robin Red Breasts, Tits and even Magpies and Crows would be descending on the towpaths to feed on the seeds left on the ground, but even the Watchers, as I call them, the Magpies and Crows are missing along the River Lagan Towpaths this October 2022.

Young Robin Red Breast

Most of the little birds out and about this October 2022 are Robin Red Breasts, and most are young Robin Red Breasts, which is really strange, because normally the adult Robin’s join their young as they learn the ropes about life on and around the River Lagan and her towpaths, but this year, the young Robin’s seem to be on their own as they explore their new surroundings within Mother Nature here in South Belfast, Belfast City, Northern Ireland.

Branching Out

It is very strange that most of the Robin Red Breasts coming to get fed this October 2022 are very young Robin’s.

It as if the adult Robin Red Breasts have suddenly disappeared in these last few months, which means Stranger Things are happening within Mother Nature this end of 2022.

Blending In

It is only in the last few River Lagan Walks and weeks that some young Robin Red Breasts have begun to appear along the River Lagan Towpaths, but they are very nervous little birds, which I believe is down to not being taught by their parents the ways of their surroundings and people feeding them, which means they only descend when you leave seeds on the ground for them.

Trusting Robin

When you get to have a close connection with a creature from Mother Nature, such as this beautiful Robin Red Breast, then it is a magical experience, and if children are around when you are feeding the birds, they stand in wonder, along with their parents, or grandparents at such a magical sight and I hope by them seeing me feeding the birds, they themselves might venture to do the same while out walking along in Mother Nature.

Up Close and Personal with a Robin Red Breast

You can see from my recent stories here on Vocal.Media, the little birds have dramatically dropped in numbers along the River Lagan Towpaths in South Belfast this October 2022.

I am not sure if this is due to Climate Change, Bird Flu or other Stranger Things within Mother Nature, but one thing is for sure, things have changed dramatically upon the Earth -Plane this 2022.

The Lone Hooded Crow

Now even The Watchers as I call them, the Crows and Magpies are out in numbers this end of October 2022, which is another sign, something is very wrong within Mother Nature this 2022.

Normally the Crows and Magpies would follow us as we slowly walk along feeding the Robin’s, but normally as we walk on from leaving some seeds for the nervous young Robin’s, The Watchers, the Crows and Magpies would swoop down to feed on the seeds we leave for the little birds, but since Summer 2022, all the birds that are normally on and around the River Lagan in South Belfast are not there in any numbers this October 2022.

River Lagan Grey Seal

Every now and then you can see and hear the excitement in fellow walks eyes and words as they get a glimpse of a Grey Seal swimming in the River Lagan about 6 miles from Belfast Lough, and the Irish Sea.

The Walk Stopper

The appearance of a Grey Seal far up the River Lagan in South Belfast is a walk stopper, and has people scrambling for their mobile phones cameras.

Amazing Grey Seal

You always hope for the appearance of the Grey Seal or Seals on the River Lagan, but you also hope for other rare appearances of the Kingfishers and Cormorants, and whatever else decides to grace my path when I am out on my River Lagan Walks.

The Search for Lunch

I don’t know what was drawing the Grey Seal into the banks of the River Lagan, but it was searching for something, which is behavior I had never seen before from the Grey Seal’s that frequent this stretch of the River Lagan in South Belfast.

Busy Towpath

The weekend is a busy time on the River Lagan Towpaths, especially when it is dry, then the multitude descend on the River Lagan Towpaths like swarms of Ant’s walking to and fro in Mother Nature, but alas few see the beauty surrounding them as the walk along, which truly sad, because the wildlife and scenery on and around the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways is truly breathtaking as you are seeing within my River Lagan Walks stories here on Vocal.Media.

The River Lagan at Rest

The calm before the storm!

This is the beautiful River Lagan on a still Autumn day.

The River Lagan in Flood

A few days later and the River Lagan is almost full to overflowing and with more heavy rain on the way, the River Lagan is eventually going to make her presence felt, along with other swollen rivers in Northern Ireland.

The River Lagan in Autumn

Slowly the Autumn leaves are beginning to turn into their multitude of colours above the River Lagan, which will then drop into the river, with many journeyign down river to Belfast Lough, but many more will feed the river with nutrients as they settle on the bottom of the river, feeding the creatures that live within the river.

The Meeting of the Species

Now my photograph about might seem like anything special, but firstly, I have never seen a Little Grebe so close to other water birds and though the Mallard Ducks are no threat to the Little Grebe, my photograph is a rare one, especially with the birds of the River Lagan disappearing this end of October 2022.

Another thing that totally surprised and pleased me was the size of the Mallard Drake, which is the biggest Mallard Drake and Duck I have ever seen and photographed in my life, it’s truly massive compared to it’s partner.

I believe the Little Grebe is either using the ducks for protection or to scoop up a stray fish or river creatures that might surface around the Mallard Drake and Hen.

Reflections of a Little Grebe

No matter when I go out in Mother Nature for an hour or so a week, depending on my illnesses, she, in all her guises never fails to amaze me.

No one photograph is ever the same, and out of 7.8bn earthly human beings living on our Earth-Plane in 2022, my photographs are unique to me, as yours are to you, so you should take pride in that amazing fact.

The English Ivy is such a beautiful bush, which always catches my eyes, mind and imagination whenever I pass it on my walks.

Up Close and Personal with English Ivy

I know your Scientists claim all you can see upon your Earth-Plane came about through the Big Bang Theory, including us, earthly human beings, but remember this dear brothers and sisters of Wisdom, a theory is not fact, it is just a theory, a thought process to what our misguided Ancestors believed was the Truth, but in Truth is close, but no cigar.

Nature’s Way

The Truth of everything you see is in plainsight and is far from being a theory.

Such complexity and beauty is most certainly not by chance or by any Big Bang Theory, but it is the creation of superior minds and Heavenly Human Beings, who are our Heavenly Family, though this Truth has long been forgotten by earthly human beings, sadly.

Jeg the Peg

Now my photograph above is truly baffling me, because unless I am mistaken this Robin Red Breast has three claws.

It has the one it is standing on and the one tucked into its stomach plumage, and then one behind it as you can plainly see.

Stranger Things in Mother Nature this 2022 in South Belfast!

Caught in Movement

From my stories and photographs it might seem like there are many Robin Red Breasts on my River Lagan Walks, but my photographs come from several River Lagan Walks.

On average my friend Noel and I are seeing around 5 Robin’s on each walk, and maybe interact with one or two, in years past, we could hardly walk several feet before the Robin’s, Blue Tits, and Great Tits we’re fighting each other for your attention and seeds, but now the River Lagan Towpaths are silent, with few birds singing their once beautiful songs anymore.

The Temp

Once I shake my seed box, the Robin Red Breasts in earshot let me know they are about, and so they come close for a few seeds like the little beauty above, but last year I photographed Robin‘s, Blue Tits and Great Tits feeding together as I will now show you.

The Face Off

As you can see from my photograph above, the Robin’s and Great Tits use to share the seed offering.

The Meeting of Species

As you can see in another photograph of mine from last year, even the Blue Tits came to feed with the Robin’s.

A Trinity of Birds

It is amazing the difference between this year and last when it comes to the little birds coming out to interact with me.

I am sure you have noticed a dramatic drop in the birds numbers out and about in Mother Nature where you live, this is why it is always good to take as many photographs as possible when your out and about in Mother Nature, because when dramatic changes happen within Mother Nature as they are happening now in 2022, then you can compare the differences between years, and of course you have the records of such changes in your photography, so snap away while out in Mother Nature.

Old Henry

With only little Holly to walk with since Monty and Maddie passed on, Noel and myself meet some of their old friends out walking, such Henry above.

I don’t know why, but Henry reminds of Basel Brush!

A Flyby of Herring Gulls

I love my River Lagan Walks for my health, mental health and well-being, and for my photography, which I use in my River Lagan Walks books, my Brain Injury Matters NI projects and here on Vocal.Media

The Gulls above were flying a few thousand feet above me when I took this photograph, which allows practicing with the zoom on my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera, which to me is a excellent camera for capturing the photographs you see within my stories here on Vocal.Media.

So get out and about in Mother Nature today and photograph your own nations beauty before it completely disappears, because Mother Nature and her creatures are in trouble this October 2022.

twitter.com/@aunidan64

aunidan.blogspot.com

soundcloud.com/aunidan-christi

Thank you for reading my short stories and for the gifts you send me.

camera
Like

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.