Photography logo

River Lagan Walks. Part Twenty

Stranger Things in Autumn 2022

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like
The Slow Autumn 2022

In July 2022 a False Autumn began and many trees started to shed their leaves so they could survive the drought conditions in South Belfast, and now the Autumn is slow in kicking off, with many trees heavy with their leaves, when they should be shedding them.

Climate Change is happening in South Belfast, Belfast City, Northern Ireland and though it is on a small scale at present in South Belfast, it is still part of the bigger scheme that connects us all.

Autumn through the Bushes

The amazing colours of Autumn are beginning to display throughout South Belfast this 2022, which I love photographing as the amazing change begins in Mother Nature and I love including the best photographs in my books available on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi, and my stories on Vocal.Media, and on my photographic sites, and Social Media Sites.

A Light Autumn 2022

Normally the ground would be covered in billions of Autumn leaves, but as you can see from my early photographs in this story, the Autumn so far is light to say the least.

Young Fishermen

It was nice to see these young fishermen out on the River Lagan on the River Lagan Walk.

They were only there for minutes when they caught their first fish, which was a Brown Trout.

Netting the Prize

You could hear the excitement of these young fishermen as they landed their first fish of the day.

I asked one of the young men to hold the Trout up for the camera and he gladly did so.

The Prize

It is good to these young men having a hobby in this mad world and interacting with the creatures of Mother Nature and being out and about in Mother Nature for their health, mental health and well-being, and of course new experiences.

Achievement in Nature

I remember I went fishing in my teens and what exploring and experiencing with my friends.

They we’re always happy days in the Sun.

A Young Fisherman

You can actually see the pride of achievement in this young man’s eyes as he proudly holds the Brown Trout up for me to photograph.

Brown Trout

It was good to see the young men putting the Trout back into the River Lagan after taking photographs of their catch.

The Beauty of a Brown Trout

When the wildlife, especially the little birds are scant on the ground and on the River Lagan, then if something catches my eyes, mind and imagination then I photograph it, and these young men graced this River Lagan Walk, so I include them in this story on Vocal.Media, which I hope you are enjoying along with my photography of my walk out in Mother Nature.

I always get the permission of those I photograph before I put their photographs on my Social Media sites.

The Swamp Canal

Belfast City Council, along with DAERA_NI tried to reopen the River Lagan Canal many years ago, and like most things planned in Northern Ireland, it began, and months later the plan was scrapped, which is a shame because it would have been nice to travel the River Lagan Canal for many miles through the County Antrim and Down countryside.

I can only imagine the photography I could have captured if the canal had reopened of those years ago.

A Garland of Common Hawthorn Leaves and Berries

There is nothing that says Autumn more than the berries that display on the trees and bushes along the River Lagan Towpaths in South Belfast, though with the little birds and birds in general being scant in the bushes and on the ground along the towpaths, the berries have no one to eat them and spread their seeds, which is disastrous for all involved.

Natura Art

At times I take photographs within Mother Nature that look like natural art and deserve to be framed, like my photograph above of this Common Hawthorn Tree above.

The Change

I featured this photograph in my Mother Nature poem because of it’s amazing Autumn colours, which to me is another beautiful piece of natural art.

Though as the saying goes, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder,” but to my eyes, mind and imagination this Autumnal scene is simply beautiful.

Nature’s Way

It will be interesting to see how many trees and large bushes are toppled this Autumn and Winter when the Atlantic storms begin to pound our wee country of Northern Ireland.

The Slow Change

After the False Autumn that began in July, though the BBC News only began to report on the Stranger Things within Mother Nature this October 2022.

Now I know it is only the 9th of October 2022, but to me, I have noticed Stranger Things in Mother Nature once again, many trees are trying to change into their Autumn colours, but so far, the full Autumn is on hold this October 2022.

Making River Waves

As I have already written before, the little birds along the River Lagan Towpaths seem to be on strike with many earthly human beings this August, September and October 2022, with the only saving grace being the odd Moorhen, Mallard Duck, Heron, Kingfisher or Little Grebe to photograph.

Reflections of a Moorhen

The Moorhen’s on the River Lagan in South Belfast are always about and I never tire of photographing them or anything within Mother Nature because not one photograph is ever the same.

Reflections of a juvenile Mallard Duck

Every now and then I capture the reflections of the wildlife and scenery I photograph on the River Lagan in South Belfast, which reminds me of my family saying, “As above, so below,” which means, that which is above, is below, and vice versa, including all wildlife and scenery I reveal through my photography and stories.

Autumnal Smoke Tree

Slowly the leaves on the trees are changing to their Autumn colours, but it is only slowly.

An Atlantic storm or two is needed to release the leaves from the trees this October 2022.

Reflections of a Little Grebe

I add the photographs in my stories as they come along on my River Lagan Walks, so that which catches my eyes, mind and imagination I photograph in order of walking.

A Rare Robin in Autumn 2022

There are not many Robin Red Breasts or most little birds around this October 2022, and with Climate Change and Bird Flu doing the rounds this 2022, things are not looking good in the bird world this October 2022.

If you look through my earlier River Lagan Walks stories here on Vocal.Media you will be able to see the difference between the abundance of little birds in 2021 and the lack of them now in October 2022.

The Robin Red Breast in my photograph above is simply beautiful as it gazes with confidence at its domain.

Now which Seed shall I have First?

The Robin Red Breasts have always been around me since my River Lagan Walks began over 2 years ago, which is why I call them the “Old Faithful’s,” yet this year 2022 has been a weird year within Mother Nature, with thousands of records tumbling throughout the year and throughout Mother Nature and none of those records tumbling being in favour of earthly human beings or the wildlife that once surrounded us.

The beauty of Norwegian Maple

It is sad in 2022 that one man will bring this Earth-Plane to flames and destroy parts of Mother Nature in the regions affected his madness.

Earthly human beings believe this will not happen, but alas, the King of the North, Putin cares not for Mother Nature in all her guises, and as for earthly human beings, including his own people, this man and Soul cares not for them, or his own Soul, which is truly dangerous for humankind this October 2022.

Enjoy Mother Nature in all her guises, because there are days coming when Mother Nature in all her guises will be pushed to the limit by one man’s orders and actions.

Autumn Lunch

As you know by now, those who have read my stories that is, the little birds around the River Lagan and her towpaths are scant in the trees, bushes and on the ground this 10/10/2022, which is really strange, but I am glad I have been able to chronicle the Stranger Things happening in Mother Nature this 2022 here on Vocal.Media for my records.

River Lagan Towpath Running

What better way to keep healthy than to run through Mother Nature and her beauty in South Belfast.

My running days are over and with chronic sciatica keeping me company while out walking in Mother Nature, along the River Lagan Towpaths, a half hour walk can talk up to 2 hours, with many stops along the way, which is why I bought a seat to sit on, especially if I stay out and sit in one place for a while, because then I do not hold up my friend Noel who is kind enough to take me out with him, which aids my health, mental health and well-being, and my photography and writing projects, so even a walk of an hour, starting and stopping enables me to take around 60 photographs if the River Lagan and her towpaths are busy, or as the other day as low as 16, yet even with a small amount of photographs I always capture photographs worth keeping and including within my projects, books and stories.

In between the Brambles

Some of my photography has been turned into painting and murals which lefts my Soul to see other getting inspired by my photography at Brain Injury Matters NI.

Brain Injury Matters NI Wall Mural

My photography of birds inspired by fellow Brain Injury Matters NI patrons in creating these amazing murals within the Brain Injury Matters NI building in East Belfast.

Blackbirds

Due to the pandemic and illness I have not been at Brain Injury Matters NI in Belfast since 2020 until today, and what a transformation in the building and those with acquired brain Injuries who attend it.

A Pigeon

The wall murals within the Brain Injury Matters NI building really brightens up the building and I am sure the days of those attend it.

Robin Red Breast

So from my River Lagan Walks and photographs comes amazing wall mural art at Brain Injury Matters NI, which has to be a boost for all those visiting the building with an acquired brain injury and all the confusion and pain that may bring to those who suffer from one.

Outside the Window

I watched several birds stopping by this tree outside Brain Injury Matters NI, and photographed a Robin Red Breast.

Through the Window

It was ironic while I was attending Brain Injury Matters NI in Belfast for the first time since the pandemic that I am welcomed back with murals based on some of my photography and a Robin outside the BIM room, as if saying Hi.

I suggested that if the staff at Brain Injury Matters NI put up bird feeders in the trees outside the windows of BIM, then these would attract many species of birds, which would be good for those into photography and art, and for your health, men health and well-being, which would relax damaged minds.

I will buy some for Brain Injury Matters to see what birds I can attract for my own photography and projects.

Colourful Magpie

The colourful murals around the BIM building give people a sense of hope that everything with be OK in the end and they “should not look at the darkness covering the Light, but instead, see the Light coming through the darkness.”Aunidan©

My acquired brain injury seemed like my life was over because before it I was an Entertainer, but after awakening from my coma 2 weeks after being put into it by the ICU, I realised my gifts of comedy and singing had gone, which was strange, but then I remembered my Spirit Guides words “Great change was coming,” yet I did not imagine the way that the change would come, but shortly after my recovery began I knew old doors were closing and new ones were opening with my writing and book publishing, and photography.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwj5kvSBotv6AhXgTEEAHayGCwQQFnoECAsQAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.co.uk%2FBooks-Aunidan-Christi%2Fs%3Frh%3Dn%253A266239%252Cp_27%253AAunidan%2BChristi&usg=AOvVaw0De5T19YvLfjd3JvWZdzB_

Brain Injury Matters NI Secret Garden

This is the first that I know of artwork being put outside the Brain Injury Matters NI building, which is down to Ciara O’Malley the art coordinator in BIM, who inspires and encourages all those who attend her classes.

Wool Bombing

This is all part of my River Lagan Walks because if I did not have my acquired brain Injury, then I would not have attend BIM, which would have meant no photography, writing, BIM projects, no River Lagan Walks and now murals, so everything has a reason, and nothing is by chance.

Dragonfly

So I have a lot to thank BIM for, past, present and future.

Butterfly

twitter.com/@aunidan64

aunidan.blogspot.com

soundcloud.com/aunidan-christi

paypal.me/aunidanchristi64

Enjoy Mother Nature in all her guises because she and they are free, which is rare in a World of expense.

I hope my stories inspire you to get out and about in Mother Nature for your health, mental health and well-being, and for your gifts of photography, writing and art.

Aunidan©

camera
Like

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.