Photography logo

River Lagan Walks. Part Seventeen

The Changes I Have Seen in 2022.

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
Like
River Lagan Kingfisher.

It has been over a year since I last wrote about my River Lagan Walks, this was due to being ill.

I suffer from chronic cluster headaches and have done for the past 14 years, but during the pandemic I suffered from 13 chest infections which only stopped last week after my 12th course of antibiotics and though Covid-22 is still in the mix this 19th day of August 2022, the numbers of infected has dramatically dropped here in Belfas, Northern Ireland, though I still wear my mask when in enclosed places were such as shops, taxi’s and hospitals.

Wear your Mask.

After 13 colds and chest infections within 2 years, I am not taking any chances with colds, flu’s or Covid, especially with Autumn and Winter quickly arriving in the Northern Hemispher, and with Putin’s mad war raging in Ukraine, and gas and food prices going through the roof, then this Autumn and Winter could push millions over the edge.

I am glad I have Mother Nature to go to for comfort and healing for a few hours per week, and Mother Nature is Free, which is rare in this world of expense.

As I slowly walk along in Mother Nature or even simply sit by the River Lagan to see what wildlife graces my days, I am never disappointed, whether it is an adult Heron, which would be the biggest bird I come across on my River Lagan Walks or the smallest Fly, and everything in between, because all of them are part of Mother Nature and deserve our respect and help to survive, because without the wildlife of this Earth-Plane, then we, earthly human beings could not survive.

Since I last wrote here on Vocal.Media.com last, Stranger Things have been happening around the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways, especially with the trees shedding their leaves early, which has been going on now in South Belfast since early July, as you will see within my following photographs.

Autumn Scene in June!

As you can see from my photograp above, the Horse Chestnut trees have been shedding their leaves since early July in South Belfast, which has to be down to climate change and lack of rain, which has left the ground throughout the UK bone dry, with many regions in the South of the UK now bringing hosepipe bans into force to save water, which on top of Putin’s war in Europe and price hikes on everything we buy, makes 2022 a perfect storm.

Climate Change is real dear brothers and sisters and the sooner you realise this and prepare for its effects upon this Earth-Plane, and us, the better.

Autumn in August.

I have been slowly walking around the River Lagan in South Belfast with my friend Noel and Monty his English Springer Spaniel who passed over last year, sadly, and I have never seen Autumnal scenes like the ones I am seeing, and have been seeing since early July along the ancient paths I slowly walk.

Stranger Things in South Belfast.

It was the Horse Chestnut trees leaves that I first noticed in early July going brown.

At first I believed the trees were either diseased with something, or possibly had been attacked by Caterpillar‘s or somekind of pest, but as the weeks passed by in South Belfast and with several heatwaves this Summer, and a dry conditions since the beginning of the year, then many of the trees along the River Lagan Towpaths this 2022 are simply dying because of lack of life giving water.

River Algae.

The River Lagan is now being clogged with green algae as August begins to wind down, and though temperatures have dramatically dropped in recent days, very little rain has fallen in months here in South Belfast or Northern Ireland in general, though flash floods have damaged properties in Northern Counties of our wee country, like other parts of the Earth-Plane, but flash floods do not solve long term drought problems.

Countries in the Middle-East have found Wisdom and take their water from the vast oceans in their regions and then change it from salt water, to pure drinking water, but alas many nations did not see how nations with little water were able to solve their fresh water problems via the sea water within Mother Nature.

What is happening throughout the Earth-Plane affects us, regardless if we live many thousands miles from each other, we are all connected, and that includes all within Mother Nature.

Getting Ready for Autumn.

These volunteers were getting the small Summer meadow beside the Lock-Keepers Cottage in South Belfast ready for Autumn and Winter, and it was good to see other Nature Lovers out doing their best for a small part of Mother Nature here in South Belfast.

I photograph everything that catches my eyes, mind and imagination, plus it is a good way to chronicle the changing times here in South Belfast.

The Harvest is Ear,y in 2022.

I don’t know if my friend Noel has noticed the fruit trees and bushes producing their fruit early this August 2022.

My photograph above was taken on the 18th August 2022 and as I can remember with my brain injury, fruit did not ripen until at least Septembe, though I do know that different fruits ripen at different times of the year.

Maple Leaf in August.

I know I have an acquired brain injury, but walking along the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways you get know the ways of Mother Nature, her creatures and plant life.

Feed the Birds.

Another thing I have noticed this year along the River Lagan Towpaths is, the little birds, such as the Robin Red Breasts, Great Tits and Blue Tits to mention but three species of small birds in South Belfast are thin in the trees and bushes this August 2022.

The odd Robin makes an appearance now and then, but even this is rare at present, and when you are walking along, and stop to listen, you will not hear the sound of the little birds at present in South Belfast.

The Descent.

As you can see from my photograp above, some young Robin Red Breasts are taking the plunge, and connecting with Noel and myself at times.

Tucking In.

It is an amazing feeling when I connect with a creature within Mother Nature because that creature has to trust me and I have to be patient for magical seconds like above.

Invasive Himalayan Balsam.

During the late Summer months along the River Lagan in South Belfast the sight of the river is blocked by the invasive and annoying Himalayan Balsam plants, which smell amazing, and look amazing as well, but when trying to see and photograph wildlife on and around the River Lagan is hit and Miss until the Himalayan Balsam dies away.

Hedge Bindweeds and Himalayan Balsam.

Other plants and weeds have now chance with the Himalayan Balsam in the mix, it just takes over everything it comes across.

This 2022 I have noticed many fallen trees along the River Lagan Towpaths and river banks, which has to be something to do with the Himalayan Balsam plants which weakens river banks and soil were other plants, trees, bushes and weeds grow.

This invasive plant was brought to the UK by victorian plant hunters, who I am sure did see the effect these plants would bring to foreign lands, and all for their beauty and smell, and they are beautiful plants, though very annoying to see and photograph through.

A Busy Happy Bee.

The Bees in all their varieties are more than happy with the Himalayan Balsam flowers as they collect their pollen and spread their pollen from flower to flower, meaning even more Himalayan Balsam plants in 2023.

Monty-GBNF.

I miss Monty, my friend Noel’s dog, who I walked with for almost 2 years, along with little Maddie, so I can only imagine my friend Noel missing a dog he had for 14 years, morning, noon and night, who he walked 14 times per week, but thankfully he has little Maddie to keep him and me company as we walk our River Lagan Walks.

Little Maddie is a Shih Tzu and as cute as pie until I get out of Noel’s car and she goes crazy, which is weird behaviour.

I believe it is those who approach Noel that triggers her mad behaviour and she does it with everyone who comes close to Noel, even her owner Dawn.

Cute as Pie.

She also has a think about big dogs on leads and attacks them without warning at times, but I think she knows the big dogs on leads cannot do anything to her, but it is the change in her behavi our that is so amazing.

Noel says, “ She has a screw loose,” which is true when you see her mood swings in action.

She always licks my arm when I sit beside in Noel’s car, she could be licking salt from my arm in hot weather, but I believe she is tasting my arm for when she bites into it LOL.

Another little dog goes out for walks with Noel and myself, when I am out, and she is little Holly.

Holly.

Holly is a cute Yorkshire Terrier and as you can see, she is as cute as pie as well, though she has begun to copy Maddie, when Maddie does her charge and barking at a big dog, which is hard to believe, that one dog will watch another and copy their actions without being taught.

Holly is 13 years old, whereas, little Maddie is only 9, but both dogs are senior citizens in dog years.

In Between the Crowd.

The River Lagan Towpaths are amazing paths to slowly walk along if you have the time, but as you can see from my photograp above, at times the towpaths are full of walkers, cyclists and runners, though it doesn’t bother little Maddie who walks along the River Lagan Towpaths as if she own them LOL.

Great Blue Heron.

The Great Blue Heron’s are amazing birds, at rest or flying.

The are like birds left over from Pre-Historical times and I never tire of photographing them if they appear on my River Lagan Walks.

The Great Blue Heron’s are easy to spot because of their blue plumage, but many call the Great Blue Heron’s, Grey Heron’s, but both are different as my photograph below reveals.

Grey Heron.

As you can see, this Grey Heron has no blue plumage like it’s close cousin the Great Blue Heron.

Great Blue Heron on one Leg.

I know when I was a child or even a teenager running about the River Lagan I never saw such beautiful big birds as the Heron’s I have seen on my River Lagan Walks in South Belfast, and the last time I saw and photographed a Grey Heron on the River Lagan was about 14 years ago, so seeing and photographing one in August 2022 was a welcome bonus for my records and photography.

Me, Myself and I.

I love photography as my therapy and hobby and though I am not a professional photographer, what I photograph is good enough for me.

Creeping Thistle and the Wasp.

When I am out and about on my River Lagan Walks I never know what I am going to photograph until it graces my path, from small creatures like this Wasp to creatures like the Heron’s you saw earlier, and as I have already written, if it catches my eye, mind and imagination then I have to photograph it, big and small.

River Lagan from the Red Bridge.

I know there are hosepipe bans in several regions of the UK this August 2022, and though the river below the Red Bridge in South Belfast is only about a foot deep, the river is still flowing along, which good to see, especially for the fish and the wildlife that depends on them for food.

Young Brown Trout.

As I sit beside the River Lagan I see thousands of little Brown Trout in the river blow me, which good to see.

Feeding Frenzy.

I don’t know what the young Brown Trout were feeding on when I took this photograph, but they were like a Shiver of Sharks feeding on the bottom of the river.

Fetch the Ball.

The River Lagan is also very popular with dog walkers, some of whom take to the water to play and cool off on hot days.

Though drinking the water would not be recommended because of what is dumped in it from along it’s 53 miles, which eventually passes South Belfast on its journey to Belfast Lough.

Little Grebe Mother and Chick.

New life is still appearing on the River Lagan in South Belfast in August, which to me seems strange, though not unheard off.

Little Grebes normally giver birth between April and Septembe, but mostly their young are born before June, so this Little Grebe chick is an exception to the rule, and with only around 5,300 breeding pairs in the UK, the Little Grebes are rare water birds indeed.

This mother and chick also have this stretch of the River Lagan in South Belfast to themselves as long as the Heron’s and Gull’s do not spot it.

The Trees have Eyes.

Recently as I was slowly walking along the River Lagan Towpaths will my friend Noel and little Maddie the Shih Tzu, I began to see eyes on the trees, which quite a lot of trees have as you can see and you don’t need a creative eye or vivid imagination to see that ”The Trees have Eyes.”

The Trees are watching Us.

Next time you are out and about in Mother Nature, check out the trees as you slowly walk along and you will see that the trees truly have eyes.

Eye know You.

Once you begin to see the eyes on the trees, you will notice them time and time again.

Tree Eye.

You cannot deny that in my last four photograph, the eyes of the trees are as plain as day.

As I wrote earlier, if it catches my eyes, mind and imagination, then I photograph it and eyes on trees connect with my eyes, mind and imagination.

A beautiful Swan family.

At times while out in Mother Nature you get a chance to take a picture perfect photograp, which would look good on a gallery wall or someone’s private collection.

I love the way I have captured the reflections of the father and mother Swans and their two beautiful Cygnets on the River Lagan.

I had only sat down by the River Lagan this day in August and within seconds this sight came around the corner of the river, which had me scramble for my camera.

I was able to not only take some amazing photographs of the Swan family, and was able to capture a short video as well, which really looks good.

The Journey Down River.

Seconds later and the Swan family were on their way down river.

In the last two years of walking along the River Lagan in South Belfast I have never seen or photographed any Swan’s on my River Lagan Walks, and now the river is full of them for some reason.

Swan’s in Love.

I photographed these two lovers close to Shaw’s Bridge in South Belfast and I almost got a full heart with their necks and heads, but I was happy enough with this photograph of these beautiful Swan’s.

So that makes 7 Swan’s on the River Lagan this August 2022.

I do not know why the Swan’s have suddenly arrived on the River Lagan in South Belfast, but I am glad they did.

For now that is these River Lagan Walks over, I hope my stories inspire you to get out in Mother Nature, because Mother Nature is free.

San Dom de Nanta van san Nantess estanto?

twitter.com/@aunidan64

instagram.com/@aunidanch

soundcloud.com/aunidan-christi

auNisan.blogspot.com

camera
Like

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.