Photography logo

River Lagan Walks. Part Eleven

Mother Nature, the Mistress Artist.

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
A Beautiful Rhododendron Bush.

All of Mother Nature is amazing, regardless of which season you walk out in her.

I mean look at the beautiful Rhododendron bush I have captured on the River Lagan Towpath heading towards Lagan Meadows.

So strikingly beautiful is this Bush along this part of the River Lagan towpath in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

The Swamp.

I don’t always photograph amazing wildlife, scenery and manmade transprotation, because if it catches my eyes, mind and imagination then as the reader of my stories on here and in my River Lagan Walks books available on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi will know, I photograph everything that catches my eyes, mind and imagination.

Even what seems a tangled mess, is a think of art and beauty to me.

Amongst the Branches.

Robin Red Breasts always look amazing not matter what time of the year I photograph them, with no photograph being the same of them.

New Like.

Whether the Robin Red Breasts are young or old they are all different in sizes, personalities and ways.

Beautiful Wood Pigeon.

Yet even a Wood Pigeon is beautiful in its own kind of way, with its beautiful plumage and colours.

Having a good Stretch.

I have noticed the Wood Pigeon’s doing this strange behaviour in the trees and bushes along the River Lagan towpaths, but I am baffled by what they do it, other than to refresh themselves in someway.

They scare the bajeevers out of me when they suddenly take off from within a bush next to me as I walk along with Noel and Monty the English Springer Spaniel.

Having a Laugh.

Monty does this every time we are out for a walk, which makes me laugh everytime I see it.

He seems to be scratching himself, but only he truly knows why he does it.

Maybe he is just glad to be out in Mother Nature like me, only Noel and him go out 14 times a week.

The Mallard Spa.

The Mallard Ducks, Drakes and Hens are simply beautiful as they go about their business each day on the River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Here they gather to flirt with each other before pairing off to mate as they do each year, if they are lucky enough to pick up a partner.

The Mallard Ducks can be found in many numbers near the Boat House at Shaw’s Bridge in South Belfast, Northern Ireland, which gives the young children with their parents an experience of being close to creatures from Mother Nature, which can’t be a bad thing.

Wild Orchids.

I love practicing taking close up photographs of not only flowers, but also Insects.

The Wild Orchids are so beautiful to look at and photograph, and I am glad I did, especially because of the beauty I have captured above.

All in a Flutter.

I love the way my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera captured this Robin Red Breast in mid-flight while feeding from my seed box.

This was not an easy photograph to take because I had to hold my camera with my right hand, while holding the seed box for the Robin to land on in my left hand, then I had to look through the viewfinder on my camera and judge the second the Robin is in mid-flight which is split second photography, but well worth it when you see the results I got above.

The Mystery Bike.

Strange seeing a bike chained up on the River Lagan Towpath, near Lagan Meadows, which could been a plant by the police to catch bike thieves at work, but I photographed it because it looked so out of place, with no one near it.

It could have had a tracker and cameras on it so whoever tries to steal it is tracked and filmed, who then ends up on the news or one of those caught in camera programmes.

Though it might have been just a bike locked up for a Walker or runner, but it didn’t seem to be.

Why leave a good bike in the middle of nowhere?

It was on my River Lagan Walk this evening so I had to photograph and chronicle it.

Reflections of a Little Grebe.

The creatures of Mother Nature are truly amazing in all their shapes and sizes as this beautiful adult Little Grebe shows with its black, red and white plumage, which is set of beautifully with the Sun on its back on the River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

A Daylight Moon.

I am always baffled and questioning how the Moon can be in the sky at the same time as the Sun.

I mean, the Moon is supposed to set in the West in the morning, while the Sun rises in the East and the Sun sets in the evening when the Moon is rising, so how can both be in the sky at the same time, and in the day?

Lockdown Activity on the River Lagan.

It is great to see the seniors out enjoying kayaking on the River Lagan, which most be a nice way to spend an hour or two.

I would like to try this myself when I feeling up to it, but for now I will just watch and photograph others enjoying the River Lagan.

Eight little Ducklings swimming in a Row.

This Mallard Hen has her wings full with these eight little beauties, who are lightening fast as they swim along the River Lagan.

It is amazing to watch something so small being able to swin against the current of a fast flowing river, but they do it with ease.

The Dangerous Hogweed.

At present on the River Lagan towpaths, they are overgrown with the dangerous Hogweed, which I am sure other walkers do not comprehend.

Now the small Hogweed is dangerous and can burn you, and leave you with serious blisters, but the Giant Hogweed, well it is far more deadly, so take heed dear reader and do not touch the Hogweed or Giant Hogweed Lest you regret it.

Now in this little stories on Voca.Media.com, I mix the seasons I have photographed over the last 8 months just to show you the beauty in and around the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways through the seasons.

A Fluffy Blue Tit.

I noticed this little bundle of fluff flying from branch to branch on this tree and as soon as I could focus in on it, I photographed it, but what it was baffled me unti I contacted the RSPB NI, and sent them a photograph of the mystery little bird to their Twitter feed and within an hour I received my answer, it was a young Blue Tit, which was another first for me.

Oh, I have photographed adult Blue Tits before, but never a young Blue Tit, so I was well chuffed.

Busy Towpath.

At times the towpaths are quiet, but this evening it seemed everyone was out, including the dangerous cyclists who think the own the River Lagan towpaths, and when they are around, along with other walkers, feeding birds is nearly impossible.

White-Tailed Bumblebee.

Recently I have been practicing taking photographs of the smaller creatures of the Earth-Plane and so far the results are amazing as you can see above with this White-Tailed Bumblebee, so I will continue to try and get better photographs of the smaller creatures as my hour out a week continues, health allowing.

River Lagan Pollution.

In some of my other River Lagan Walks stories on Vocal.Media.com I have shown you the human waste and pollution on the River Lagan, which is truly sad to see, especially for the fish and wildlife in and on the River Lagan.

Undercover Fisherman.

I spotted two fishermen on the River Lagan this evening out, who where hidden away from the path, which looked very suspicious indeed, as if they didn’t have a license to fish on the River Lagan, but God help them if they are eating any of the fish they are catching from the polluted River Lagan in South Belfast, Northern Ireland, because that will not be good experience once tummies become aching.

Some pollution could even kill you, so do eat any first from this part of the River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Reflections of a Fisherman.

I love the way I have captured one of the fishermen’s reflection on the River Lagan, and my photographs are not taken to get anyone in trouble, because you cannot see their faces.

I am just chronicling life on the River Lagan, her towpaths, parks and pathways for my River Lagan Walks books avaliable on Amazon.com-Aunidan Christi and for my stories here on Vocal.Media.com

18/06/2021 Half Moon.

Earlier I showed you how my Nikon CoolPix P900 camera can zoom into the Moon, with amazing results on another evening out on the River Lagan towpath, and above is the half Moon of Friday evening, and just so you can see the difference of the daylight Moon and night Moon on the 18/06/2021 I include this nighttime photograph of the same half Moon below.

18/06/2021 Half Moon.

The first half Moon photograph was taken around 8.30pm on the 18/06/2021, and the second photograph of the June half Moon was taken around 11.30pm from my balcony, but the Moon was in the afternoon sky before my hour out in Mother Nature this evening, which is quite a long time in the sky along with the Sun, which should not be.

Oh, I know science would have an explanation for this strange occurence, but the eyes and the camera do not lie, so something is not being taught by your scientists, and because earthly human beings do not question their teachers, then the Truth remains hidden.

The Day of the Triffids.

At present the River Lagan towpath is overgrown with weeds which means you cannot see the River Lagan or the wildlife on it, which means very few photographs of the river and its wildlife.

I have tweeted this to Belfast City Council in the hope they might do something with about the weeds, unless they are needed for the insects and bigger wildlife.

Giant Hogweed.

In my photograph above I feature the deadly Giant Hogweed, which looks like it means business with its spikes on its leaves, but this deadly weed has yet to bloom.

The Heart of the Giant Hogweed.

The Giant Hogweed can leave you with serious burns, blistering and scars, so be careful around it when you are out and about in Mother Nature.

I will photograph this deadly weed when it blooms so you will know what to avoid when you are out and about in Mother Nature.

Top Song Bird.

The Blackbirds have to be one of the loudest and beautiful song birds in Mother Nature, who can be heard early in the morning and in the early evening, as if they are thanking their Creators for another day.

Mallard Ducks Ducking.

When you see Ducks with their butts in the air, they are feeding on river grass, plants, weeds and seeds, but it is still a funny sight to see.

The very small Ducklings cannot do this yet, so they eat from the surface of the river, seeds, flies and other small insects, but it does not take them long to grow.

Well that is part eleven of my River Lagan Walks over and once more I hope you have enjoyed my walks along this magical part of Belfast, Northern Ireland.

Until our next walk out along the River Lagan, in South Belfast, Northern Ireland:

Best regards

Aunidan

twitter.com/@aunidan64

aunidan.blogspot.com

soundcloud.com/aunidan-Christi

camera
Like

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.